1973 Airstream Sovereign International 31 ft RESTORATION!

in #airstream7 years ago

So my wife and I bought (traded + cash) our very first camper which happens to be an Airstream! This is no coincidence since this is exactly what we were looking for. Growing up there were only 2 things my mom ever really liked or wanted that were car related. An old Toyota FJ40 and an Airstream travel trailer. I know...she's got good taste...sometimes. Anyhow, her love for the Airstream transitioned into my love for the Airstream. I always thought they were so cool and retro looking. They make me think of the 1950's and ooze that cool nostalgic feel of Fallout (the video game). Back to the camper. When we got it everything looked to be in relatively good shape. The body is solid with no major dents or dings and absolutely no gouges. It still has all of the original double pane glass in it! So we got it back home and began the gutting process. This was fun at first we were all Chip and Joanna Gaines on Demolition Day ha. The fun turned to disdain though as I began to move the old plywood floors, I saw the frame. Rust city! Anyhow I am planning to sand blast the frame and cut out and weld in new metal and paint it a section at a time as I go. This is where I'm currently at with the project and will continue to post updates with pictures here. Please share, like, promote, w/e if you like what you see and want more!

Thanks!

IMG_3919.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66531.19
ETH 3487.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63