PROFESSIONALISM: WATCH WHISPERER...

in #airhawk-project6 years ago (edited)

images (19).jpeg
credit

I’ve always been a sticker for doing whatever you do, doing it well and not only well, doing it graciously very well.

I love anything that has to do with being in contact with people, offering services to them. And anyone in that line can explain the agitation and irritations sometimes.
I try to flow with my clients like we are old time friends.

Sometimes it goes well, and other times, I feel like calling some a thorn in the brain. Yes, because they give me headache….thinking about it, how does thorn want to get into the brain? Spiritually? I guess those guys are just spiritually annoying….lol.

I remember a post on this platform, don’t remember who wrote it. But I picked that how you react to people, circumstances, its all a function of you. Its not controlled from the outside, its from you. So face your demon.


images (18).jpeg
source

But today, I went to the market to fix my wristwatch. Well, I got tired of giving it to the professional alled guys who have extorted me and still didn’t get my watch fixed. So today, I decided to go and find some watch doctor in the market…..

Well, I don’t like going to market because I hate noise and especially crowd. Am not shy, just prefer calm quite, not too crowded places…..and please don’t you dare call me ajebutter. Well, my trip to the market was quite adventurous….

The market is a mix of so many people, the beautiful, the shapey, the briefly defined, the crazy, the foolish fool, the angry and lots more. Well, the place was equally saturated with different odour and smell. It was a conference of confused odour. Those of kpomo, goat meat,
groundnut, veggies, dumps, sweat, and please be warned, don’t go sniffing around, you wont hear it finish.

Finally, I found my WATCH WHISPERER

it was a humble table,he covered it in white and neatly arranged his tools and other stuffs. I was particularly impressed about that presentation. Then I walked closely to him to exchange pleasantries. He spoke correct English with his hausa accent and it sounded so beautiful.

I accessed him, his dress was neat and he wore a brown sandal. He had clean shaven beard and also wore a fresh breathe. Lol…am sorry…I can be very extreme sometimes.
IMG_20180410_124047.jpg
I loved the way he handled my wristwatch, there was passion written on his face. Like ooooh, I don’t want to hurt the watch.

He gently opened the watch, in my head, I was shouting WATCH-SURGERY!! And the only person that came to my mind was Dr.Nairapapi, that was before I read his post later in the day.

There was an issue opening my watch. It is actually a mechanical watch, no batteries. I wanted to just collect it and pull the stuff apart, to show him my musu……that was suppose to be muscle.

Well, when I remembered how much I got the watch, I just had to wait for the man to open it.
IMG_20180410_114530.jpg
He finally got it opened and then he carefully removed the frame, took out the problem and fixed it.
IMG_20180410_114309.jpg

I was really amazed at how he did it so well. Really was calm and neat. The way he went through his tool box and was communicating with me as he worked.
He did an excellent job.
Then he gave me my bill, well it wasn’t even up to what i've paid before.

I then asked him how long he has been in the business, he refused to answer and laughed.

I was so impressed by his conduct, I compensated him and gave him more than he asked for. Lol.. Then I asked again, how many years have you been doing this…lol….am I mischivious? Lol…no

He didn’t tell me o. he said when I come back next time that he will have to think about it because he is an old man,lol. Then I told him I’ll be back.

When I got back to work, my boss wanted his watch fixed too, so I took it from him and headed to my friend’s place again.

IMG_20180410_121722.jpg

He was quite happy to see me.

And then just as I was about to cross the road, a guy grabbed my hands and said I love your watch and walked past me, I looked at him and said thank you o. in my mind, I started pleading blood of jesus. Na so them dey scam people and their eyes will only clear after they’ve been robbed.

I got to him, showed the watch, he looked at me and said this is not an ordinary watch. Lol…I know.
It’s a designer watch and the last time I checked a Rolex that looks like that online, because I sell watches, the price was well…… back to our talk…he said he is expecting a shipping of parts from Kano and I should come back later. Then I sat down on his bench and smiled at him, he knew what I wanted to hear…lol

So he told me…..he said this is his 25th year in the business. I was shocked. This is an outlier in his field! Wow. I collected his phone number, his name was Haruna, from Jigawa state. He told me that.

He then asked, where are you from, I told him mine too. We exchanged contacts, he asked me to give him a call anytime.
I promised ill do.

Either youre selling mobile data, pepper, paper, satchet water, running a firm, a receptionist, please, do something unique and different.

I remember listening to myles monreo one time and HE said the problem with most people is that they don’t get planted in one place, that’s why God cant grow them.

According to Malcom, from his book outliers, you need atleast 10,00 hours/tries, at whatever you do to become a master at it.

Don’t stay at beginner level all your life, don’t remain intermediate, strive for mastery.

The past 12 hours, have your learnt anything new about your field, about your career, even about steemit?

Also, presentation matters. I mean, look good, even if you sell on the street, nothing stops you from looking polish in your brogues if you an afford them.

Sort:  

What ever you do be the best at it

Like Peyton Sawyer said in one tree Hill..."I love it so much, I think I might ruin it if I am not great at it"

Thanks Booboo

awesome one babe. Thanks for visiting my blog. your comment keeps me going

Keep it coming bro

Thanks man. I expect better commenting next time. That's what makes you unique and deserving of an upvote

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by flames from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you for dropping by my Free resteemed service, nice post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79