Byteball airdrop referral system is terribly gamed.

in #airdrop6 years ago (edited)

ff

Byteball airdrop to Steem frenzy

It is the craziest airdrop event I have ever witnessed on Steem in my 2 years time, simply due to the lucrative airdrop amount and referal reward. Byteball has established theri brand for a while in the crypto space and the coins can easily be cashed out, that is why it was so hot after the announcement. But I would like to talk more about the most lucrative reward for this event, the referal system!

How lucrative is it?

The referral gets exactly the same reward as the new user*'s reward. A new 70 rep Steemian gets $160 and so do you if they happend to be under your reference.

While is sounds like a totally great idea for promote Byteball as hars as possible, there is some tricks to game the referral system and exploit the reward.

First, you need to know how the system define the referrer.

Difficult questions Question: What if a user clicked a referral link and paid with funds sent to him from another attested user? Answer: The user providing the funds will be the referrer, not the one from the link.

Question: What if there were multiple inputs from several attested users being used to pay for an attestation?
Answer: The input that is closest but not less than the output required will be the referrer.

Question: What if the user didn’t spend my funds, but instead signed a message?
Answer: Then nobody will be the referrer of that attestation.

Taken from the post: https://steemit.com/steemit/@punqtured/network-issues-over-the-weekend-and-questions-about-steem-attestations

You should read it if you have more intesrest on what was the network issue lately and more information about the airdrop.

Highly exploitable referral game

Ultimately, the referral link is practically useless. The decisive factor is whose fund the new user used for the Steem attestation.

That's why having the new users commenting their wallet address in the public area is a good way to lose the referral reward for post owner. Because all the reward hunters would just send the minimum fund(about $0.08) to new addresses.

Someone is even creating some bots tapping on Steem API to track Byteball wallet address over all the network and send funds. I heard people are making a few thousands dollar just over a few days. Crazy world.

TLDR: Byteball airdrop referral system is highly exploitable.

太长没读: Byteball 空降最让人垂涎的就是推荐系统。推荐者可以得到同样比例的奖励,但是缺点就是太容易被摆弄,有很多方式可以把原属于作者的奖励偷去了。


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://fr3eze.vornix.blog/byteball-airdrop-referral-system-is-terribly-gamed/

Sort:  

的确是这几天突然钱包里冒出好多人的转账,都是为了转推荐的钱。话说如果多人给你转账,这推荐奖励算谁的?

最早而数量符合的,会被用作你认证的费用。而那笔款项的来源就可以得到奖励。

给弄到昏头转向了 @_@

没想要推荐的话,其实不用管那么多。

I think not many knows about 'signed a message' option too.

Yeap but that way little or no reward would be a distributed right?

Yes, I think so. Unless you know and want that person to have the reward.

Yeah it's quite sad I've helped I think 6 people and 3 of my referrals have gotten scammed from me.. One was a 70+ rep as well...sad what people do for some extra money..

I lost my 2 70rep referral as well. Easily $320 gone.

图片好评
技术类文章看不太懂
有朋友帮忙帮我申请了空投
也许我是傻人有傻福

没什么傻不傻的,就是一个空投而已

Posted using Partiko Android

hope you manage to get the referral reward from my signup. If not, let me know i will transfer half of the bytes reward to your acc.

I believe I did not. But why the transfer? Keep it that's all yours. Appreciate it tho.

Posted using Partiko Android

Screen Shot 2018-07-24 at 12.40.13 pm.png

this the address i received the registration fee, is this your gbyte address ? aiya without your lobang, i won't get anything also. If the address not yours, let me know your gbyte address will send over half as appreciation =)

Yep but seriously just keep it. The byteball lobang is everywhere here that you will bump into one anyhow.

haha ok. yeah after your post, i saw it like all over my steemit feeds and ppl camping to snatch new account. drink on me next time when we do meet up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62892.68
ETH 2581.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73