Tips for hosting on Airbnb for the first time.

in #airbnb7 years ago

Tips for hosting on Airbnb for the first time.
airbnb.jpg
My best advice is start by being your first guest. Arrive as though you're getting the key or however you plan to handle that, take your luggage to the room, unpack, and don't cheat by going into your room. Use things that only guests would have access to. What's missing? What nearby food spots came in handy? Be a guest for like 3-4 days at least, you'll be on the fast track to avoiding needless pitfalls.
My best advice is start by being your first guest. Arrive as though you're getting the key or however you plan to handle that, take your luggage to the room, unpack, and don't cheat by going into your room. Use things that only guests would have access to. What's missing? What nearby food spots came in handy? Be a guest for like 3-4 days at least, you'll be on the fast track to avoiding needless pitfalls.
Cleanliness (linens, bathroom, no strange odors) is the most important thing - period. Some places have nice decor but that's up to you.
As far as hosting, I've stayed at places ranging from live-in hosts to remote. Either way, friendliness is key. Visitors are going to ask the same questions -- where to eat, how to get to xxx, etc. There may be more pre-stay communication than you anticipate. I appreciated prompt answers when I would email a host these questions. Some hosts already have an FAQ they email out, like a list of recommended restaurants etc. If I felt like I was getting the brushoff or just wasn't getting a friendly vibe, I might consider changing my airbnb or downgrading my review of the host. There is enough of a trust gap already for both guest and host, the last thing I want is to be made to feel just marginally welcome. If the host is live-in, I'm certainly not expecting to 'hang out' with them, but a friendly conversation on arrival goes a long way in mitigating the awkwardness of staying in a stranger's home.
Lastly, if you are going to provide amenities (towels, toiletries, mini-fridge w soda/water, coffee/tea, small snacks, microwave), make sure this is clear in your ad so guests know what they can leave at home. You may or may not charge more for these things, but they can also help distinguish your rental as a better value if your market is crowded.
Have multiple sets of sheets and towels. Two probably isn't enough if you're hosting a two-night stay followed by a three-night stay followed by a one-night etc., etc. Think about how frequently you prefer to do laundry and stock your linens accordingly.
Digital lock is great, but if you're going to allow guests to check themselves in, write up detailed instructions for them about how to get in and how to get oriented inside your house. Load it up as a saved message on AirBnB so you can send it to whoever needs it without repeating yourself.
Even if you have decent heat and air conditioning, it can be challenging to anticipate every guest's expectations of what the temperature should be inside. Put a space heater and a box fan in the bedroom, and I'd suggest doing the same for the living room.
Every host will get dinged on cleanliness at some point, so expect it to happen, but don't just resign yourself to it. Keep an eye on your bathroom every day and take care of stains and crud as you spot them. Wash your dishes after every meal.
Simple accommodations are fine if you're upfront about it. My place has few frills on the inside and looks like the 100-year-old building it is on the outside. I say in so many words in my listing that it's not luxury accommodations, but it's great for travelers who like things to be simple. As such, I attract guests who appreciate what I can offer, and I get reviewed very well for it.
At the beginning, maybe configure your calendar so you won't be accepting check-ins on the same day that another guest checks out. It helps to acclimate yourself to the pace of the routine before you decide you want to handle back-to-back bookings. Ramp it up as you see fit.
You can be as hands-on or as hands-off as you want, but I find it's best to provide guests the minimum information they need to check in and then make myself available for additional questions. I'll socialize with guests who want to engage on that level, but I won't invite guests to go out on the town with me unless I know we have a specific interest in common. If you want to be more forward, that's on you, but it can get tiring, and also I find it's not what most guests need when you're in a neighborhood that has all the amenities at your fingertips.
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLAgiyq4vEs8M61uGXydGxllnQc9ISRW96

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39