Air clinic writing contest: Drug Abuse; A youth destiny killer.

in #air-curie7 years ago

Hello steemians
Thanks for visiting my blog, to back up the topic of this article I will be telling a true life story of how drug abuse (weed in particular) destroyed the life of a young graduate I met in December, 2017.

I am a human being, I don't get along too well with everyone and unlike most people I have no idea on how to hide it but there was something about this guy that caught my attention.

Last year I decided to spend my Xmas holidays in calabar and check out the carnival. After my first day there, I went out with a friend and that's where I met him for the first time (I won't be mentioning his name out of respect but for the purpose of this article I am just going to call him Caesar). Everything went smooth that day. We went out had a couple of drinks,made jokes about our past lives and talked about out varying plans for the future. Infact we spent the whole day together and nothing went wrong.

After that I went back to my place and we didn't cross paths until the Xmas celebration, the next time I went to chill with my friend,he got a call from Caesar's mum, she was calling to confirm
the whereabouts of her son so instead of heading out we had to go back and console her. On getting there we met her scolding her second son for letting him go out alone. I didn't blame her for that though since her husband is gone and she has only two kids, he is the only one she can pour out her frustration on.

The thing that baffled me is why would she be panicking over a child in his mid twenties who just stepped out in broad daylight. In my own view of things there was absolutely nothing wrong with that. Turns out the dude is a psychiatric patient who was just allowed to come back for the holidays.

So logically, the next question I needed an answer to was how he got himself there.So here is what my friend told me.

A couple of years back, on finishing his education in the university of uyo,he found himself a new clique amongst which he was the least in almost everything they cared about, that's things like who first gets knocked out when they drink, smoke and stuff like.

Eventually, in an effort to prove himself he went and purchased a thousand Maura with of weed and took it alone in a single day by the dawn of that day, he was screaming at the top of his voice that he was the king of their clique( The weed had started it's work). So to prevent any further embarrassment of him and theirselves they decided to take him home where he was meant to sleep and by the time he would have awakened he would be fine.

Unknown to them the mum was going to return that night, when she returned the sight of him put her in such a fright that she had to take him to the psychiatric that night. Now here is the thing, Caesar was high but when he went to the hospital they gave him drugs for mad people. The medication Now has messed him up. Today, he can't take weed anymore because once he takes it, he will start misbehaving no matter how small but being an addict he can't stop and because of that he has had to stay in the hospital for two years now and still counting.

That last part might have been a bit confusing but I am going to leave it open everyone can interpret it the way they like.

Caesar has missed alot of opportunities because of this falling out, for instance he is a has a job offer that has been waiting for him in Abuja since the time of this incident but because of the state he finds himself he has been unable to go for it.

In his story, alot of fingers are pointed at alot of people but the truth is non of that would have happened if he had not dealt weed in the first place.

To all the youths out there stay safe, don't do drugs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57806.13
ETH 2453.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36