Air-clinic writing contest: My last fever

in #air-clinic6 years ago (edited)

image
Source
Mosquitoes are my greatest enemies and knowing what would happen to me if exposed to many of them, I went on the camping trip regardless of my father's warning now I'm on the bed with temperature so high it could melt an ice, every bone in my body groan in pain with every movement, my head pound so much I could hardly think.
image
Source

My brother pulled me up and carried me to the back seat of the car where I passed out and when I came to I was on the hospital bed, I hated hospitals especially the unique smell and needles but I had no choice but to stay put.
The nurse came in and stick a needle under my skin and into my vein to drawn blood for test without warning, I wanted to scream at her for not being gentle enough but my mouth seem to be sealed closed, I got angry at my body for refusing to obey me.

The doctor came in later in the day with several questions which I ended up answering with a nod since my mouth was temporarily useless, he turned to my father when he was done and gave his diagnosis, I had typhoid and malaria. Oh! Wonderful, not only did I exposed myself to mosquitoes, I also ate and drank contaminated food and water, my father swore angrily and glared at me, I knew that was my last camping trip or so I thought.

I got better after few days of medication and went home with the doctor's warning to arm myself with insecticide from now on and I should be weary of food I eat if I'm not sure of the process.

image
Source

I got home and saw what the combination of malaria and typhoid did to my body, I was practically a walking skeleton with my ribs visible without having to suck in my breath, I became watchful of the water I drink more and more and with this increased vigilance of my health I haven't fallen ill in 4 years

Words: 342

Join air-clinic discord https://discord.gg/rqded5m

Sort:  

Wow.... 4 years....kudos to you

Thank you😊

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68662.62
ETH 3151.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70