AIR-CLINIC WRITING CONTEST ON HIV/AIDS

in #air-clinic6 years ago

Since I stumbled on @air-clinic writing contest on HIV/AIDS I decided to write an interesting heart warming story but there's nothing interesting about HIV/AIDS, the stigma kills faster than the virus itself, knowing that you have the infection can be the most difficult experiences you go through in life. I used to know Shabul and Kabal, I was best of friends with the identical twins maybe because we stayed in the same neighborhood or because of my love for twins. We played together and shared a lot of twins together then. I noticed Kabila the elder sister to the twins is always sick, she's always going to the hospital and always on drugs. Kabila looks weak and haggard, she doesn't play around like the other kids. One faithful evening my mum told me not to hangout with the twins again that it's no more news in the neighborhood that the twins with their other family members are infected with the deadly disease HIV/AIDS. It was hard for me to believe that my favorite friends are infected. I told my mum it's impossible but she shut me up and barred me from playing with the twins again. Soon enough Kabul, Kabal, Kabila with their parents moved away from our neighborhood due to the stigma they were been subjected to in the neighborhood. I went for the test and tested negative.
image
I met Kabul some few years after they left our neighborhood he told me how his parent and and his sister Kabila lost their life's to the deadly virus. He also told me Kabal his twin brother committed suicide due to the stigma.
Kabul is now living a healthy life following doctors advice and he's fine.
Although HIV/AIDS can completely change a life but it can be managed with medication.
The end. 302 words

Thank you @air-clinic for this opportunity.
image
Join the discord channel
https://discord.gg/rqded5m

Sort:  

There are some situations that when they happen, you do not seek for end, you seek way out.

Nice story. Sorry for the twins and their parents that they had to go such a horrible situation. Proper education and counselling should be top priority.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68493.85
ETH 3838.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64