AIR-CLINIC WRITING CONTEST: MAN IN EVERY CHILD

in #air-clinic6 years ago (edited)

It was one of the cool evenings of 1997, I was playing around with my yard people.
kids-3256879__340.jpg
Source
As small as we were, you think we know nothing, you joke. I was tripping for one of the girls.
While playing our catcher, I would chase others and not her because I wanted her to like me. But guess she too was holding some feelings for the other alpha male in the playgroup. So you can call it survival of the fittest. It was a struggle for attention.
But here was it, we started daring each other, the girls gave us petty tasks but me and the other guy, gave ourselves quite a dare. I had dared him to do a back flip on one finger which resulted in a twisted pinkie. But his ego and manliness at that age, didn’t allow him show pain in the presence of the ladies. He then looked around with rage in his eyes and pointed to a big tiger battery, cracked it open and said, eat it!Now that I think of it, I got lucky.
Well, I couldn't back down, my crush was watching and what more, it was just some black stuff, can’t hurt much, I thought
I downed a little of the content of the battery, it had this kind of sharp but nice taste. So I took a few more to prove my bravery. That was the last I remembered. Didn't feel any pain or anything,
I shut down.
I went blank. Like a total black out. The only thing I remember was someone putting her hand in my mouth and shouting in pain because my little sharp milk teeth were clamped against her hand. They were shouting bring palm oil and the funny thing was that, there was a general Hospital just directly opposite where I live.
Well, I don’t know how I survived or what they did to bring me to life. But I know that I never saw my crush again, I never went out to play again and the boy became my enemy till I left that place.
WORD COUNT: 350

Sort:  

@T-flames, thank you for using the naijapidgin tag.

We encourage and support minnows.

Join us on discord: https://discord.gg/5SR8CH4 for more fun and to submit your posts for curation.

You like what we are doing and would like to support us? Join our trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=naijapidgin

It's amazing that you still remember your childhood like it was yesterday. I was very careful as a child. Thank God you survived it

Lol...yes i remember. That was one of the many things i survived trying to be like others. I jumped off the roof once and have been through stutches too Lol....thank God i he kept me. Am quite more careful now.

Thank you for dropping by

Excellent piece of writing, @t-flames. I couldn't figure out if it was real or made up until I read the comments section. ;) I look forward to reading more of your work. Thank you.

Also, continued good luck with the @air-clinic and all other writing contests. You may enjoy @mariannewest's daily freewrite contest too. It is extremely popular and the rules are simple and conform to Steemit's contest rules of not requiring resteems, upvotes, etc. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61122.11
ETH 2972.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66