AIR CLINIC WRITING CONTEST: My happiest day ever

in #air-clinic6 years ago

There's no greater test of your natural ability than when you're caring for a sick loved one. There's no greater joy than seeing the person you dedicated so much time caring for, get back on their feet. Ladies and gentlemen, join me as we go down memory lane to the happiest day of my life.

Sometime ago, my 5 year old nephew fell terribly ill and my sister asked me to come over and help nurse her baby. I gladly accepted though I didn't know how to nurse a patient. On arrival, I decided to focus on his comfort which I believed would speed up his recovery. First, I ensured his room was always bright and airy in the daytime. Next, I brought in a bedside table and placed his water bottle and toys on it.

I engaged him in cheerful discussions about life outside his bedroom and with time one day, he got out of bed saying he wanted to go outside. My sister was overjoyed at this because he had never left his room since he fell sick.

Everything seemed to be going fine until one night he developed a high fever. We called the doctor. The doctor arrived on time and went straight to work.

I couldn't sleep, neither could my sister. We prayed, cried, sat and stood for hours till we had no strength in us. Finally, we fell asleep. By morning, I opened my eyes to find my sister standing next to the doctor with expressions on their faces I could not decode.

I rushed out of the sitting room and headed for his room. He spotted me at the door and ran to me for a hug...I got emotional 🤧. Then the doctor came in with my sister now smiling from cheek to cheek. He thanked me for my contribution to the recovery of his patient and added that it's not just medications that ensure recovery but also kindness, understanding and courage.

That was the happiest day of my life; seeing my nephew up and running, like nothing happened.

WORD COUNT: 344 words

Join the @air-clinic discord server today here

DQmWVvpPdgZCkKUiT1B2SXVH5Cxdv9QR5E3QmpjvjbdiZnr_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

That is a wonderful story! It is so rewarding to help someone when they are sick, and I an sure you made your nephew feel very special with the love and attention you showed him!

_GoldenProject-ThanksForSharing.png

Yes, it is very rewarding to help someone especially those who may not have the capability to help you. I love my nephew very much and I am glad I brought back the smile on his face.
Thanks @thekittygirl.
Do have a lovely day

That's really great moment for sure because when our closed one fall ill then it gives an sad essence and when they once again rise up greatly then that is happiest moment. Thanks for sharing your experience with us and wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. 🙂

Thank you. Bless you too!

Welcome and thank you. 🙂

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Waoooh,,,its joyious to see sick relative, get well

Yes it is dear...thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53807.82
ETH 2237.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30