AIR-CLINIC WRITING CONTEST- Beyond the fumes

in #air-clinic6 years ago

It was a hot sunny day. There was the usual hustle and bustle typical of the big city of Lagos. Everyone was busy doing one thing or the other. I was briskly walking to the motor park where I was to board a bus to attend an interview. As I walked, I had so many thoughts in my head, thoughts that turned into prayers. I hoped the interview would be a success so I could finally get busy with my life just as is typical of a lagosian.

Arriving the BRT bus station, I noticed a huge crowd that gathered round a woman who was acting like a drunk. I decided to get a closer look. A closer look at this middle-aged woman showed that she was neither drunk nor insane. She was clutching her throat with her left hand and her eyes with her right, complaining of blindness. No one seemed to understand this woman as she was said to have been standing at the motor park also waiting for a bus when she suddenly started staggering and clutching her throat. To make matters worse, she suddenly collapsed, scaring away some of the onlookers.

As a medical student, it didn't take long for me to realise these signs to be Carbon monoxide poisoning. As quick as a fox, I dived into action.

Carbon monoxide poisoning is a very serious problem in large cities today, arising from exhaust fumes from cars, buses, and other vehicles.

I carried her to a bench where I layed her then I picked up my phone to call for an ambulance.

Usually, the victim complains of headache, weakness, dizziness, nausea and dimness of vision.

After I employed the mouth to mouth resuscitation, she started breathing again....what a relief!
I thereafter, proceeded to give her the following advice. "The air we breathe here in the city cause us more harm than good but, we can make efforts to reduce its harmful effect by:

  1. When plying a dusty road, use a face mask
  2. Avoid inhaling smoke from a fire or cigarettes.
  3. Expose yourself more often to fresh air

WORD COUNT: 350 words

Join @air-clinic on discord here https://discord.gg/rqded5m
DQmbcN9aQAd51Cp89Ar6ixQjbTr5vJJEi3MfHFXe7fuZBTr.png

AIR-CLINIC ROCKS 💪

IMG-20180323-WA0000.jpg

Sort:  

You are a life saver. Thanks for the lighting up her life..

Thank you @ghayas. I appreciate 😊

This post has been selected by Altruistic as a post of the day has been given an upvote.
You may join us on her discord server: https://discord.gg/KHB9eJk.

Please kindly upvote this comment in order to keep us helping plankton and minnows that their quality posts are undervalued.

Thanks for being a member!

Interesting and educative.

Assuming am also a medical student I would have helped the woman before you got there.
Just keep it up I love your write up

Lol! Saving lives is the most important thing dear. Glad you loved it. Thanks...

Nice! I've often wondered how safe is the air we breathe. Not too safe after all..

Yeah...especially in the big cities

It not about cool or fine, but it going to be amazing and inspiring. Thanks a lot wishing u dey very busy

Thank you very much my dear friend. I appreciate!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61814.34
ETH 2979.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48