#AIR CLINIC WRITING CONTEST 15: POVERTY THE ELDER COUSIN OF DISEASES

in #air-clinic6 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians and friends, this is my entry for this weeks contest organized by @air-clinic and that is the topic above. Enjoy.
IMG_20180314_164431_540.jpg

I totally agree with you. I'll tell you why. Let me take you down the memory Lane. 

She was my best friend. She was my seat mate back in high school. I was the five and she was the six. 

And then It happened that day in the class room. She fell to the ground. We rushed her to the school clinic. 

 She has ulcer, she has been starved. The nurse said. 

I remember the times she would come to my hostel after school and tell me she skipped her breakfast because she was always running late to school from  and I would share my provisions with her. I never knew.

 I never knew that she ate just once a day, and the other times she couldn't ask me for food, she ate nothing. I never knew. 

I also remember the time she said  fell while playing at home. A few days later, I didn't see her in school and when she finally resumed, she said her wound got infected because it was not treated but  she was okay now. I never knew. 

She was from a family of 7. She was among the 3 surviving children. The other siblings died of malnutrition. They lived in  extreme poverty but she managed to hide them behind the smiles she wore to school everyday and I couldn't decipher. I never knew. 

Words came to school that she passed away 1 month later.

 She had asthma too and her parents couldn't afford an inhaler. 

 She was gone, before I could help her. 

Before I could tell my parent that my partner was in  critical condition  and needed financial help.

That is how I lost my best friend. 


Word count: 286


Join the air-clinic community on discord with the link below

COMMUNITY LINK: https://discord.gg/rqded5m


Thanks for visiting my blog. 😘😘😘
$ a big thank you to @air-clinic for organizing the wonderful weekly contest

Sort:  

So heartbreaking! One thing i learnt in this life is, "never be too shy to ask for help. With this story of yours i perhaps thought of something, " it's possible they already resigned to fate.

Yea! They are in poverty, even if they ask for help and they got none, there is always something to be done to get rid of poverty. Not all people are bad, there are still some that would help willingly and unconditionally.

Like i said earlier, "it isn't our fault if given birth to in poverty but it will be our fault if we die in poverty.

Note: the above quotation works when the person in question is able to work. In other cases we ask for help. If you believe you will receive.

Poverty is by choice because it is curable and the cure lies with us even till death.

Thanks for sharing this story of yours, i really appreciate it.

I totally agree with you my dear.
To live or die in poverty is our choice. We can always work it out somehow.
In this case, she would have gotten help if she asked.
Thanks for reading and dropping your thoughts.

Yea dear.😢
Thanks for stopping by.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch . If your post has more upvotes, your post will appear in the trending page. To get more upvotes, you can bid for @steembidbot vote. please check it out here: https://steembottracker.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60856.28
ETH 2937.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44