AIR-CLINIC WRITTING CONTEST: Poverty, The Elder Cousin Of Diseases

in #air-clinic6 years ago (edited)

ITS BEEN DISCOVERED THAT;
Overcrowded settlement/poor living conditions, contribute to the spread of most airborne diseases such as tuberculosis, respiratory infections such as pneumonia and others. Constant use of traditional stoves and open fires, can lead to deadly indoor air pollution which claimed the life of a whole family in my village last year. Lack of food or ballanced diet, clean water and sanitation can also be fatal as it breeds dieases.

John's mother had been coughing through out the night as i learnt from john's only sister "Jane". it's obviouse her tuberculosis is getting worst by the day because there is no money for treatment.
images (80).jpeg
Source.

John is my best friend and also my class mate. I come to their house every day because we read together.

I could not hold back my tears as i watch his mother cough out blood.

Before the death of Mr Honour, John's father, they were very rich. Mr Honour was a regional manager in All-Trust bank. He died in a car accident, and his brothers took over everything he had. They threw his family out of their own house.

I remembered how my father used to advice Mr Honour never to buy property(s) in his name alone but his wife's also, for the sake of the future of his family, but he would not listen. He hides everything from his wife and his family. Now, look at the ugly result of his stupidity on his family.
images (79).jpeg
Image source

They were once our next door neighbour in the The Cooloff estate but now, they are Squatting with one of their poor Aunties, in a two-room apartment in Komiko street, which is an over populated, dirty, noisy and swampy area.

I called my father and told him what is going on with John's mother. He told me to take her to the hospital at all cost while he sends money across for the bills and their up-keep untill he comes back from his travel.

The good news now is that her health is improving. This is how she could've died because of lack of money for treatment.

Am just praying to talk my Dad into starting a business for John's mum so that she can be able take care of herself and her two children. I have faith that my Dad will do that for me.

Now to my fellow men, please, do not hide your wealth or investments from your family. It has never helped nobody , rather, it has punished a lot of innocent families.
Save the future of your family.

Thanks.
(350 words)
DQmbcN9aQAd51Cp89Ar6ixQjbTr5vJJEi3MfHFXe7fuZBTr.png
https://discord.gg/rqded5m

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66683.89
ETH 3311.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70