#AIR-CLINIC WRITING CONTEST 12: DRUG ABUSE; A YOUTH DESTINY KILLER


MY ENTRY FOR THE #AIR-CLINIC WRITING CONTEST 12


Drug Abuse

Image Source

It was with great joy and little hesitation that I embraced Damilola in front of the university park. The feel of reuniting with a childhood friend at the least expected place consumed me.

Up till that moment, Damilola remained the kindest and the most selfless male I've met. We shared the same seat during our high school days. Despite being mates, he was like a mentor and a role model combined. He guided me in almost everything; morally and spiritually alike.

I couldn't hold my joy at the news that he is currently in his second year in the same department I just got admitted into. I started relishing the good days ahead knowing he will be there to guide me.

The first few weeks with Damilola went smoothly though it was hard relating with his surprising new set of friends. Then later, I had to beg to see him. But, I always thought that his actions were due to his tight schedule.

It was during a surprise visit that I first witnessed his new self. I met his room clogged with odd smelling smoke. I saw the uneasiness sitting on his face and the reluctance. Yet, I could only attribute the act to his friend who left as I arrived.

But, reality began to dawn when I saw his grade point when the semester result came out. I ran to his room, banged in and there, I met the truth.

He was stinking of hemp, sluggish and restless. I felt stripped; with my mouth agape. I couldn't utter a word as I exited clueless.

Days passed, weeks too. I didn't see Damilola, neither was his line connecting. He obviously had given in to his new haven. He has found solace and not ready to return.

I many times cried and got dejected knowing that I had lost a brother, friend, mentor and a teacher to the malignant hands of drug addiction.

He now lives behind the scene. His face became masked and his voice faded. He is lost and confused about his identity.

Who will save these innocent souls?

WORD COUNT: 350 WORDS


Image Source


SAY NO TO DRUGS! SAVE YOURSELF! SAVE YOUR FUTURE!


Thanks to #Air-Clinic for this opportunity. My aprreciation also goes to the judges @ejemai, @nairadaddy, @thelovejunkie. Thanks for your selflessness.



About Air-Clinic

#Air-Clinic is a community where Doctor give professional counsel on health-related issue. They are 24/7 active on the Discord Server with different channel that will benefit her members.

They organise campaigns and provide free Steem-Powered Services; services like #AIR-CLINIC: INTRODUCING THE FIRST STEEM-POWERED VETERINARY SERVICE- You Can Now Talk To Experts About Your Sick Pets eg Dogs, Cats, etcz.

Join Air-Clinic on discord using: https://discord.gg/rqded5m
Air-Clinic

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56769.47
ETH 2402.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30