AIR-CLINIC WRITING CONTEST: My Last Injury and the Rain

in #air-clinic6 years ago

sketch-boy-under-rain-spring-jump-in-the-puddles-vector-2742412~2.jpg

"Marvellous,Marvellous,Marvellous where are you?. Lekaaaaaan!!!! Ki Lon se ee( what is wrong with you)". These were the words of my mother when she saw me lying down in a pool of my own blood.

I spent almost all the days of my childhood in the University College Hospital popularly known as UCH.The University College hospital (UCH) is strategically located in Ibadan, then the largest city in West Africa which is also the seat of the first University in Nigeria.

Anyone who has stayed or stays in Ibadan will know UCH for its reputable tall white buildings and I know many questions run through their minds. These buildings are meant for accommodating the staffs of the hospital, luckily for me my parents were one. I stayed in flat C, 186 first floor of the building.

On the 20th of July 2005, the weather started to change and I was glad it was about to rain. Another opportunity to play under the rain. The rain started as expected but on this particular day, it was equally windy. Pandemonium started and each one started safeguarding their wards. Being a stubborn fat boy, I didn't run as the rest, I kept my cool and enjoyed the rain. Finally I became drunk with the environment and started sliding through the rain, using my "rubber sandals" as a snow sledge, little did I know something was about to happen.

Suddenly the wind increased and I was carried along with it, only to be dumped on a glass door that door that gave me bruises and a deep cut to my left hand. The last thing I remembered was my mum's cry. According to reports, I was met unconscious in my own pool of blood and I was rushed to my dad's clinic with a cloth tied around my left hands.

On gaining consciousness at the clinic, the first face I saw was that of a man with a pair of glasses. He had great resemblance as my father but this was confirmed by his voice. I heard him instructing the nurses to set the theatre up for a minor surgery on my left hands. In the theatre my mum was allowed in and I could see her weeping. The surgery started and only a local analgesic was given as I observed how the curved needle and surgical blade went in and out of my skin. Finally the bleeding stopped and I was stabilised.

Words of praises to God and advices from everyone went through my ears, I really felt bad for not yielding to instructions and not running away from the rain as other kids did. Ever since I recovered fully, I personally became an advocate stopping all children I find playing under the rain and telling them my experience.
Funny enough as stubborn as I was then, I only have one part of my body scarred and this brings a lot of memories. I wish I had listened....

WORD LENGTH :400 WORDS

DQmU1Whc9D1Htmou4FS994YeLdDpbVm1xpty1bRUBZx7F2k.png

Community link:https://discord.gg/rqded5m

Sort:  

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99