TEARS OF BLOOD- THE LASSA FEVER STORY FOR AIR-CLINIC CONTEST

in #air-clinic6 years ago

Having gone through a funny ordeal myself during the time of Ebola outbreak I was trying hard to avoid similar ordeal during this Lassa fever episode. You might be wondering the ordeal I went through, I will summarize. I was deep asleep one night when my wife (then my girlfriend) woke me from sleep and was like “baby come and bathe with hot water and salt”. I tried to find out why because as a microbiology it does not make sense to me, but she replied and said that it was the recommended protection against Ebola. After much disturbance and nagging I had to just do that. My body itched me from that night till morning, if I remember that night till date I laugh aloud.
lassa-fe-1.png
Source


Having had that experience, I was careful not to be coerced into doing something stupid again with the outbreak of Lassa fever in December 2016, I was careful of the things I ate and drank.


Sometime in August 2017 I travelled to Shendem in Plateau state with a friend for work and had to visit a restaurant where I ate pounded yam and the local soup. My friend who was with me grew up in Shendem so he new the area, he was the one who took us to the restaurant. Having finished my work there I returned to Abuja, and after a day or two I started feeling awful as I was hit down with fever, I thought it was ordinary fever until when I started vomiting and having stomach aches with difficulty in swallowing, that was when my friend told me that we ate bush rat in Shendem’s restaurant. With the spread of Lassa fever and with the news of it outbreak in Plateau all I could say was I am finished.
Screenshot_20171204-203051.pngSource

After much persuasion I was encouraged to run a test which I summoned courage to do. Waiting for the test results at National hospital was something else. When it finally came I saw that I was negative I decided never to even walk past or smell bush meat ever again.


Words : 350

Sort:  

Interesting story and thank God it wasn’t Lassa Fever.
The Ebola palaver of bathing with salt and water was something else. Peole selling salt don chop market that time. haha Thanks for sharing and Goodluck in your contest.

The ebola that was something else. Thanks fir stopping by

Lol, the Ebola salt caused my dad to shout on me to the highest of his voice when he called by 1am and informed me of the salt bath, I told him over the phone that I can't try that, as if that was not enough he informed my uncles and big aunties and my phone kept ringing till I put it off. I laughed at all of them when it was eventually reported to be false.

My brother no be small thing

And that moment when i sighted ebola in the first paragraph😂😂 nice one bro

A pair of terrifying experiences there.... 😆 first with your then girlfriend and then stomach ache after eating bush rat; that was a close one.

Am sure you were very pleased when the results came out negative...lol.

My brother not only been pleased i felt a sense of relief

Ijele Nwoke, nice post, I could remember vividly that of ebola, I was still in school then back in Nigeria and got a call from my mom to bath with salt and water. Still a laughable experience till date just like your bush meat experience. Thank goodness u tested negative. Thanks for the awesome post, made my day.

Thanks for visiting it is my pleasure

Congratulations @ijele! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68125.63
ETH 3308.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74