AIR-CLINIC WRITING CONTEST 7: ALBINOS ARE HUMAN TOO... Show them love.

in #air-clinic6 years ago


image credit

As a child there was an albino in my school named John. We were scared of him because of the way his head would keep swaying from side to side at a slightly fast pace, we avoided coming close to him like a plague and even let John have a row all to himself in class. Our teachers didn't do anything to help either as they showed how they felt about John by not giving him the same attention they gave to everyone else.

One day it was after school hours and my Mum didn't come to pick me up immediately. While I ran up & down seeking adventure I saw John sitting alone on a swing and humming to himself, I became curious and took a walk in his direction, glanced at him for a moment as I walked past, just then he asked "wanna play?". It was the first time he had ever said anything to me. After a while I retorted with "yea sure", I wasn't too sure how it would turn out but something in me asked "why not?".

We got playing soccer and talking while waiting for our parent to come by. John was great company and I soon felt relaxed around him. My Mum came first, and I had to introduce my new friend, so I walked up to my Mom and said, "good afternoon Mum, meet my friend John". She was cool with John and told me my friend was well-mannered on our way home. I was no longer scared of being around him, sharing my things with him and gradually our classmates became more receptive to him. I moved over to his seat in class and we became good friends.

John was an albino but more importantly he was another child just like me, who needed to be loved and cared for by society not stigmatized.


image credit

Stop the discrimination against albinos, remember albinism is a genetic disorder and no one chooses to be that way. Show them love and care for them because "Albinos are human too!".

Word count: 345.





Air-Clinic discord Link: https://discord.gg/rqded5m

Sort:  

A Brief Overview of Albinism:
Albinos suffer from a condition known as albinism which is a congenital disorder characterized by little or no melanin pigment formed in the hair, skin & eyes. This lack of melanin further exposes albinos to other conditions like poor eye vision, sunburns and even skin cancer. At this time, there is no known effective treatment or cure for albinism as a condition.

umm, that's true show Albinos some love, it is really nice going through your article bro.

Thank you bro, I'm glad we share the same view on this.

Nice one dear. Of course they are human like every one. Thanks for sharing

Thanks for coming by bro. They even deserve more care because of the delicate nature of their condition.

I love the message that you are expressing here @handsome9ice. Kids can be so cruel without even really realizing how much they are hurting someone. It's great that you're putting this message out there :-)

Thank you so much for taking the time out to read, you're correct about how kids can be cruel and this I attribute to who the look up to and learn from. If their Parents and guardians teach them good values I believe they will also be of good behavior and most importantly, show love.

Thank you for your kind words. 🙏

A wonderful piece of writing, and a very touching story! I also enjoyed your presentation of this in PYPT on SteemitRamble, and hope you will join us again! If you do write the longer version of this, please share it with us! 😊

Thank you so much, I'm glad you enjoyed my presentation as well. I will definitely do my best to join the next session I did enjoy myself last night. Once I come around with the longer version, I'll be sure to share.
Thank you once again for your support @thekittygirl

We all deserve a better life,
Everyone deserves equal treatment.

Keyword: Everyone! thanks for coming by bro.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62