MY VIEW OF LIFE AT OLD AGE - [AIRCLINIC - #AIR-CLINIC WRITING CONTEST 9: The Young Shall Grow Old & Die ]

in #air-clinic6 years ago

When I was young, I remember elderly friends telling me, enviously, that youth was the very best time of life. As a result, I felt downhearted. Were they saying that from now on things were going to get worse? What a terrible prospect.

But now I’ve reached the same age as them, I’ve discovered that it’s not being old that’s nerve-racking, it’s being young.

Oh, What a relief it is to reach the autumn of one’s years and not have the future suspended in front of you like an intimidating cloud throwing out tormenting dilemmas.

There is a phrase I dread hearing. It’s usually spoken by unhappy women who, having reached their sixties, are determined to blame their advancing years for all the things they feel are now beyond their grasp in life.

The phrase is ‘when you get to our age’, and it is usually followed by a litany of the experiences they can no longer enjoy: dancing the night away, staying up after midnight, sleeping in a tent, having one-night stands or enjoying rock music.

At the age of 68, my viewpoint is rather different. I’ve been young, worn the T-shirt and given it to Age Concern, and now I am enjoying this entirely new age — the age of being old.

WORD COUNT 212

JOIN AIRCLINIC ON DISCORD : https://discord.gg/rqded5m

Sort:  

For content resourced from the internet, try write on these topics in your own perspective and add credit to these sources to have way more impact

Take some imaginary @teardrops (smart media tokens)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27