Drug Abuse; A Youth Destiny Killer (Air-clinic contest)

in #air-clinic7 years ago (edited)

Tips-to-prevent-prescription-drug-abuse-640x321.jpg

image

Drug abuse is the use of a drug for recreational or pleasure purposes in which the user consumes the substance in amounts or with methods which are harmful to themselves and is currently disapproved of by the majority of members of a society.


Most of the drugs abused are taken in other to influence the brain's reward system which regulates movement, emotion, motivation, and feelings of pleasure.
Most of this drugs tend to affect a person's body and brain in ways that last long after the person has stopped taking drugs, maybe even permanently.
The abuse of drugs is a national crisis, one that has state and federal government agencies scrambling yet making scant progress in curtailing. In the last ten years, stimulant prescriptions have seen an increase from 5 million to 45 million.
The best way to convey the truth about drugs is through the words of those who have “been there.”Below is a true life confession from someone who had been there.

It started with the weed, then the pills (Ecstasy) and acid, making cocktails of all sorts of drugs, even overdosing to make the rushes last longer. I took copious amounts of these chemicals every day for as long as two years until I had a bad trip one night and went into toxic psychosis. I prayed and cried for this feeling to go away, I had voices in my head, had the shakes and couldn't leave home for six months. I became very withdrawn and thought everyone was watching me. I couldn’t walk in public places. Man! I couldn’t even drive.
I ended up homeless and on the streets, living and sleeping in a cardboard box, begging and struggling to find ways to get my next meal.
I asked myself if this is rock bottom, and I believe that it was. While observing these homeless people I decided that I had had enough. Yes, I wanted drugs, but I realized that I could want life more.”


word count: 343

JOIN THE AIR-CLINIC COMMUNITY ON DISCORD: https://discord.gg/rqded5m
DQmbcN9aQAd51Cp89Ar6ixQjbTr5vJJEi3MfHFXe7fuZBTr_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by enajo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57806.13
ETH 2453.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36