#AIR-CLINIC WRITING CONTEST 9: THE YOUNG SHALL GROW OLD & DIE

in #air-clinic6 years ago

seven-stages-of-man.jpg
source

Look into nature, and then you will understand everything better. "What so ever has a beginning, has an end". As a natural law, the young shall grow old and die.


My dad was 98 years when he died. He spent almost three days dying (But those three days were hard). He died of old age, and it was entirely natural.


Dad had been bedridden for months and was at the @air-clinic nursing home. One day, he stopped eating, then started slipping in and out of consciousness. Soon he stopped drinking.


For three days my brother and I sat by his bedside, holding his hand, moistening his lips, praying he was not going to die yet because we were not ready. With time his breathing changed, becoming more ragged. During this period, his skin smelled different. His breath gradually became a rasp, then a rattle.


It sounded awful. We were sure he was in pain. One of doctors at @air-clinic reassured us he wasn’t; this was a human body dying naturally, shutting down, one bit at a time.


I looked at my dad lying motionlessly and I remembered when he was younger, a caring fellow who placed his family first. A man who loved enjoying life and out door activities. A man who loved working around the house garden and taking long walks around the house. That same man now, can't do any of those things.


At this point the doctor came in "can I talk to you? "he asked, I agreed and we went to his office. He asked me if he could give my dad something that would make him at least sound better, but it would really be more for us than for my father. “My job,” the doctor said, “is about prolonging people’s lives. Anything I give to your father now would simply be prolonging his death.”


So we waited. When it finally came, death was quite sudden, and absolutely unmistakable.


With tears rolling down my cheeks, I realized that one day "the young shall grow old and die."


Word count: 344 words

JOIN THE AIR-CLINIC COMMUNITY ON DISCORD: https://discord.gg/rqded5m
DQmbcN9aQAd51Cp89Ar6ixQjbTr5vJJEi3MfHFXe7fuZBTr_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Wonderful moments and awful event. That golden movements were cheated you. I am praying for your father. If we lost our Father also we lost half of the world because He has taught us the world pros and cons of life. I respect your devotion of father.

I am hugging you behalf of #air-clinic and #hug-challenge of @nairadaddy.


https://discord.gg/rqded5m

This post has received a 0.15 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65275.00
ETH 3569.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47