#AIR-CLINIC WRITING CONTEST 19: My Last Injury.

in #air-clinic6 years ago

PicsArt_12-02-05.24.07.pngEvery Friday, I was supposed to "burn candle at both ends" because it used to be my 24 hours duty in surgery emergency as an intern. Having given two or three duties earlier I was good at handling trauma cases.

On 04 august 2017 at about 11 pm, I was busy with examining a patient presented with pain in his right flank, when I heard a girl screaming bloody murder entered our room

"Doctor please examine my brother as he had met a road traffic accident".

One of my senior colleagues examined the patient and sent them to resusitation room and adviced them to bring suture material as his scalp was actively bleeding.Within few minutes they made all the necessary arrangements. I was orderd to stitch the lacerated scalp and resuscitate the patient.

It was back breaking task but was labour of love for me.

When I went closer to the patient, I realized that patient was drunk and that was the cause of accident. So i checked the emergency card for MLC(medicolegal case) number, as part of my duty. It was already there.

Now i started my job.I started IV fluids to resuscitate the patient and locally anaesthetized the injured site. While i was shaving his hair, he suddenly jolted his head. The blade in my right hand ripped the glove of my left thumb and caused minor cut. i immedately got injection TT done.

Without any further delay, i continued my job because i knew delay at this point could hit another nail in patient"s coffin. After finiahing, I noticed that patient's vitals were heading towards normalcy.

It was sigh of relief for me on one hand but on the other hand thought of getting infected begin cycloning my mind.
Now I sought reports of all the tests. At this point, my prime focus was on viral markers like Hepatitts, VDRL and HIV. Within half an hour all other reports arrived except those i was longing for.
After sometime i rushed to lab myself and managed to see the results there. But I was not satisfied. I still waited for written records to arrive.

Arrival of reports relieved me of the fear and anxiety and I was back with the same zeal as before.

#Word count:360
Air clinic discord link:https://discord.gg/rqded5m

Screenshot_2018-01-25-09-42-19.png

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by drqamranbashir from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97