PERMIT ME TO CALL THIS MY BEST EXPERIENCE SO FAR

in #air-clinic6 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians!
I'm a 400level medical student who just tasted medicine and surgery.
I started my clinical posting for junior medicine and surgery yesterday and I must say that im not in the wrong place at all.
Initially i was super excited cos I will be witnessing a life surgery and believe me it was amazing but not to the patient though.
Two radical mastectomy(surgical removal of the breast) was done and they all ended successfully.
The first surgery was done on a young lady who presented to the hospital very late and the cancer of the breast was in a stage where she could if the surgery hadn't been done. The surgery went on smoothly with no complications although it took a longer time because residents were doing it supervised by a prof.
The second surgery took just 30minutes, i guess you are wowing cos i did but believe me the process was scary. After the patient was prepared for the surgery and the surgery began, it was going on smoothly until the patient's blood pressure started dropping and her abdomen and this was a sign that she was dying. Will you be scared in a situation like this? You can answer that. The consultant and doctors in charge had no atom of fear and they looked so confident, they were able to restore her and the surgery ended well.

"Some persons go into surgery that has 99% success rate yet still die"
While others go into same surgery and survive.
The restoration of the patient was not just the surgeon's duty but everyone in that room.
She would have died but she didn't cos of the doctors.
So i wondered, " how much responsibility do we as doctors have" so many lives have been put in our hands and if we are reckless about it, then we lose them.

As a child I've always wanted to save lives not just physically but mentally and spiritual. I don't have to be a pastor to convert people, infact doctors get in contact with so many people than pastors. People would want to listen to me cos they respect me not because I have money or dress fine but because they know i can save them. I've always felt that after God, the next set of people that could save lives are doctors. So in a way God passes through us to save lives.
MEDICINE is not just a course but MINISTRY.
Have a deep thought of what you just read, THANKS
#irespectdoctors#
#medicine#
#happy#
#myministry#IMG-20180301-WA0023.jpg
IMG-20180301-WA0020.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61964.40
ETH 2998.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47