AIR-CLINIC WRITING CONTEST:MY NEAR-DEATH EXPERIENCE.

in #air-clinic6 years ago

It was a month to POP during my service year. I was excited i would at last leave that terrible town. It has been one heck of a year. I had been falling sick at least once a month since i got to that town.

I got good news. A friend that passed out already had two months left before his rent expired so i gladly told him i would use it up for him...i was thinking i would be free from sickness for a month. Little did i know i was putting myself in bigger trouble!

A few days after i moved in, i started feeling tired without reason. I was just too lazy to do anything. The sun became my enemy...it literally burned my skin, then i had fever.

I bought the usual drugs but this time the fever proved stubborn. I lost appetite for food and could only manage a little yoghurt before taking my drugs.

I dreamt one afternoon of a beautiful and colourful beach. I had lots of friends and i was having plenty fun although i didn't recognise the faces of my friends.

There were a lot of people on the beach. The music was soothing, there was plenty to eat and drink and everyone was smiling. I saw no sad faces

Suddenly, a strange sound cut into my fun, it was like a roar in my ears and i couldn't ignore it anymore so i turned to look behind me and i felt myself fading.

The next i knew, i was on a hospital bed surrounded by my crying friends. I had been out for five hours. It was shocking to realise i had gone to the great beyond and i came back unscathed.

The noise i heard was that of the ceiling fan...it was annoyingly loud.

The doctor said i was a lucky girl...i had a bad case of typhoid fever which was left untreated for long. Apparently, the water at my new place was 'deadly'. I am happy to be alive...i survived that terrible place.

Word count:345

This story is written for the air-clinic writing contest.

Join air-clinic on discord: https://discord.gg/rqded5m
Screenshot_2018-01-25-09-42-19.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been upvoted by Reach Out, which is proudly sponsored by @eturnerx. Our goal is to support Nigerian minnows on Steemit. Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn

Benefactor : @bleepcoin

Curator On Duty: @akintunde

Join the @eoscafe community [https://discord.gg/wdUnCdE] Invited By @akintunde

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75