Why You Act The Way You Do! (KNOW YOUR TEMPERAMENTS)

in #air-clinic6 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians, today is another bright and sunny Wednesday here in Nigeria, I welcome you to my blog.

TEMPER FACE.jpgSOURCE

I guess we all have come across different categories of people in our everyday lives: people that get angry easily, people that get sad always, people that are loquacious, people that cannot even harm a fly, people that hyperactive, some people are a mixture of all these.

Human beings could be classified as either #extroverted or #introverted.

#Extroverted individuals are outgoing, sociable people who need people to exhibit their temperament.
#Introverted individuals, on the other hand, are the opposite of extroverts, they are shy and not too social and prefer calm environment to function well.

I would like to divide #extroverted people into #sanguine and #choleric for the sake of this post,and classify #introverts as #phlegmatic and #melancholic.

Do you know that, there is no ideal personality?

I guess these emotions were put in place to balance natures” yin and yang”.

It could be noticed that a careful study of each individual from birth till adulthood will reveal the type of temperament a baby possess.
baby face.jpgsource

Some babies are irritable, some get upset easily, some are calm and relaxed bet you could predict when some babies would cry too if you are observant!!!

Temperament is an individual or animals’ characteristic nature which affects his/her outward behavior.

Have you bothered to ask yourself? “Why do people act the way they do”?

Do you know that most human behaviors occur unconsciously?

This post is to help you understand why you, sometimes act the way you do, as well as why others do same. This will help you deal better with people in your subsequent encounters.

Like I earlier on stated, there are 4 major temperaments

PHLEGMATIC

I started with this because I think I fall into this example.

phlegmatic1.jpgimage

Phlegmatic is represented by the natural element “water” which is steady when at rest.

Water is the most common liquid on earth that covers about 70% of the earth surface.

  • Phlegmatic people are meek and introverted people, they are good followers who live their lives to please others. They love to hang out with few friends and always avoid problems.

  • They could be seen as peace lovers, conflict resolution managers. They are the only temperament that cholerics cannot control.( Have you ever seen “fire” consuming “water” ?).

  • They love to be rational before making a decision. These are some of the good qualities I have tried to point out.

  • Phlegmatic also have some #bad sides, they are shy people, not easily motivated, they lack enthusiasm which might not go down well with a typical choleric.

  • They are usually indecisive and they do not make solid goals in life. They tend to “flow” towards an empty space to avoid getting noticed.

  • Phlegmatics are usually kind, relaxed, quiet people who rarely contribute to a discussion. They usually make good administrators. Have you ever seen a phlegmatic baby? Easy going, undemanding, unresponsive and not even stubborn. Isn’t that cute?

Phlegmatic work well under pressure, it depends on the pressure which could be positive or negative. If you push a phlegmatic too far, you get an aggressive person who gets angry for a short period and would always apologize for his actions.

  • I guess this was the principle scientist used to harness and build dams to generate electricity that supplies current to houses at a regulated voltage, industrial use, and aquaculture.

SANGUINES.

air1.jpgimage

They are represented by the natural element “AIR” which is socially useful because we cannot do without breathing air.

Have you thought about how a day would feel without #air-clinic?

  • Sanguines are extroverted and blood-red individuals who always look at the bright side of things. They are confident, outgoing and love the life of luxury.
    spotlight.jpgsource

  • They love to be in the spotlight, they show affluence by wearing expensive clothes, jewels, cars etc. They love to talk a lot, they have a good sense of humor.

  • They always active and love to mix up. They love to make friends, you can spot their followers always close to them.
    sanguine1.jpgimage

  • They also have bad sides, they may be too engrossed in themselves and not take the feeling of others (their friends) into consideration. They don’t know how to show empathy and are usually socially blunt.

  • I guess sanguine babies are those that love to be pampered lol!
    Sanguine make good DJs, good Master of ceremonies, some make good preachers and legal practitioners.

Have you ever thought about staying for a few seconds without breathing air? That’s the experience you get when a sanguine addict stays without a sanguine for a short period of time.

CHOLERIC

choleric1.jpgsource

  • They are represented by the natural element “FIRE”. This signifies ruling.

  • They are quite extroverted, a Choleric individual is very demanding individuals, their demands may burn off other temperaments. They are task oriented individuals who love to complete their set goals.

  • They are born leaders who are bossy by default because of their temperament, and boss over subordinates as leaders they eventually become.

  • Choleric is seen by others as authoritative, impatient and domineering, the irony is that they are very passionate individuals who try to instill the passion/fire in their subordinates. They however sometimes get these people burnt in these attempts of instilling discipline.

I have been trying to picture a choleric baby in my mind, but I cannot just get a mental picture lol.
Have you ever stood close to a burning fire? I guess that’s the feeling you get when you are standing close to a choleric.

MELANCHOLY

melancholy.jpgimage

  • They are represented by natural element “earth”.
    earth 1.jpgimage

  • Have you ever taken time to marvel at the works of creation? How everything looks so beautiful?
    A melancholic person doesn’t just admire, he/she tries to replicate the beauty in their individual activates.

  • Melancholic are introverts, they are highly organized and neat-to-a-fault individuals who hate disorderliness. They are very skeptical and very analytic individual who has a great blueprint for almost everything in life that has to do with them.

  • If you saw their blueprints, you may just wonder how on earth someone had the time to create that.
    They usually pay attention to details of a project before embarking on it, they set very high standards and sometimes end up taking life too seriously.

  • They know every part of the project by heart, sometimes in trying to process this information, they don’t have time to mix up with other people, and thus they are always seen alone.

  • As perfectionist, they dislike superficial works and don’t get along with people that are untidy e.g. sanguine to avoid problems.

An individual’s make up is a blend of his temperament and life experiences.

Once you understand these temperaments, you can consciously use it to create harmony in your work, business and relationships. Awareness of individual temperament is a great key to unlocking happiness and understanding why people think and act the way they do.

So let me ask the question again, “ why do people think and act the way they do”?

Disclaimer!!!

No animals were intentionally or un-intentionally harmed in the making of this post.

All images were directly gotten from https://pixabay.com/

It’s me your boy @antigenx
lets talk on my discord channel at your free time

Sort:  

I love this man. Very detailed for any 5 years to understand. I am pleg.

Lol @geekis i am aware of my audience and try my best to carry them along.

Thanks for taking time to read to the end.
@antigenx

This is an edifying post.Quite useful and relevant!

Thanks @reverend-fidelis it may come in handy when the time comes.

Oh man, I have no idea where I fit in all of this haha. I remember my friend @littlegreenliza explaining this all to me and it made more sense then, I think because she refered to these 4 temperments to 4 stages of life. I also wonder how it would relate to astrology. HMMMMM

@skycae u dont really have to fit into one, you can be a combination of 2 or more. Like i am 70% phlegmatic , 20% sanguine and 10% melancholy. If you search very well, you may fit into some qualities i spelt out.

By the way in love astrology, i have a couple of emails from sara freda and co. Are you astrology inclined? I think i need one .
@antigenx

Yess I love astrology but am no proffessional yet. @solarisastro is my most favorite astrologer on Steemit! He gives daily posts too.

Do you have a quiz you can take to see which ones you are?

@skycae does he do free consults? I need to confirm all the emails from these astrologers i keep receiving. Thanks for the priceless referrals. I would check them up at my lesiure.

By the way, i honestly have no idea how temperaments relate to astrology. I know i am aires, meaning i am fire by default. But i dont see myself a choleric in anyway.

I would do a lil research and come up with a lil hypothesis which i can share with you.
Until then...
@antigenx

That would be rad, I would like to see what you come up with. I hear that herbs actually relate to the 4 temperments... hmmmm.

I dont know if he does them for free, recently he did ascendent readings for 1 steem dollar though, and may engage you in the comments section. I also watch Steve Judd on youtube for monthly personal videos

Ok @skyCae, beautiful feedbacks. I will keep you updated. Have a nice day fam.
Thanks for coming around today. I enjoyed your company.
@antigenx

@antigenx,

This was an entertaining read for me.

The archetypes are apt and conjure up strong mind images for each temperament.

Thanks.

Namaste,

JaiChai

I'm a mixture haha this is very informative. Thanks for sharing

@gunter01 i am glad you stopped by.

I have done this style of personality typing before, I and a Sanguine/Choleric, and my hubby is phlegmatic. I think it helps to know your strengths and weaknesses as well as your partners, it helps you work. :)

@insideoutlet what a good blend hubby and you got, praying for a sang-mel as a buddy

You got a 3.78% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @ejemai! Earn 90% daily earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale.

Wow, thanks @ejemai, this is encouraging. God bless you sir.

I love this article! "An individual’s make up is a blend of his temperament and life experiences." <------- hit the nail on the head . I'll be going over this post a few times....it's a real gem. Thank you so much for sharing it!

@silasdavid im glad you liked the post. Thanks for the compliment. It feels so heart warming.

I enjoyed this piece. I think I'm a blend of melancholy and sanguine.

@sushie wow thats beaitiful, its a lovely mix.

don't laugh or shout, but i think i am a san-chol-meg. my father is chol-san, my mum is mel-phleg. and i possess some of these choleric, melancholic and sanguine traits.

@kivar now you are aware of what makes up your temperament. You can make everything work out beautiful in your favour.

Thanks for finding time to read to the end.
@antigenx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58560.83
ETH 2491.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40