MYOPIA- Few things you need to know.

in #air-clinic7 years ago

While growing up I felt people who used glasses were very intelligent; do you the way they adjust their glasses before they answer questions? so endearing. I once asked mum...

when can I use glasses like Chidera? (my classmate)

mum rebuked me, little did she know that three years from then I would need one.

I had to strain my eyes to see things my friends were seeing boldly, my visions were blurred plus I had serious headaches. I told my class teacher about it and he changed my seating position but it was not enough. Sometimes I had to walk closer to the board especially when it was time for assessments. Told Dad about it and few days later I was using glasses. I was not excited about it anymore, I now understood why the pretty girl in my class used glasses. The headaches reduced and of course I didn't have to strain my eyes anymore.

** I didn't know what it meant then but the doctor had said I had "myopia".**
images(6).jpg
Image source

WHAT IS MYOPIA?

Myopia, which can also be referred to as "nearsightedness" is a visual disorder that results in poor distance vision. Severe myopia can however impair near vision as well.

CAUSES OF MYOPIA

Nearsightedness is caused by a refractive error which is due to abnormalities in the shape of the eye like:

  1. Cornea being too curved or rounded for the length of eyeballs or lens that is too thick.

  2. Eye growing too long from front to back.

The lens focuses images in front of the retina instead of focusing images on the retina.

N/B

  • The cornea is the eye's outmost layer; the clear covering on the front of your eye.

  • The retina is the light senstive tissue in the back of the eye.
    images(7).jpgImage source

other causes of myopia

a) Myopia can be inherited as such you are at a higher risk of developing the disorder if you have relatives with it.

b) Some researchers have said that myopia can occur in children due to deficiency of sunlight and lack of outdoor time.

c) Also, people who spend so much time using their phones, in front of computers and microscopes are putting their eyes under severe stress which can result in nearsightedness.

HOW IS MYOPIA CORRECTED?

After diagnosis, Myopia can be corrected in few ways:

i》Use of Corrective Lenses

ii》Refractive Surgery (Laser Eye Surgery) and

iii》Corneal Refractive Therapy.

HOW TO PREVENT MYOPIA

Certain measures can be taken to reduce the risks of getting myopia, they include:

  • Regular eye check up.
  • Protecting the eyes from UV rays. Try to use sunglasses when outside.
  • Avoid straining the eyes too much. Give your eyes a break by looking away from the computer or the book you are reading every few minutes.
  • *Eat healthily and maintain a healty lifestyle to avoid health conditions like diabetes, high blood pressure etc. as they can affect your vision.
  • For people who smoke, quit smoking. This causes adverse effects too.
  • Use the right corrective lenses. Please be sure of the opticians you are visiting.

Take Care of your eyes. You do not want to miss out on seeing the beauty in your environment.

Sort:  

Care of human eyes is imperative. Thanks for this great reminder.

Thank you for sharing....

Truth be told, they aren't many people like you..
I can explain..
Not everyone would take the bold step of researching and creating awareness on some kind of impairment they face..
But you @annieben, you're rare.. Thanks for the knowledge you've impacted.

Try not to always make me blush na. Thank you dear

But why does people with glasses always seem to be very smart. Nice post

I really do not know how the myth came about

It's a common axiom that a good number of people with myopia or it's hyper counterpart are often thought of as smart. And somehow, it just might be true, I've seen a few of them. Example; you..

This is really very pleasing to read coming from you (my boss). Thank you deary

I use lenses for myopia too

Awwwn bby come let's hug

Should i say you took a bold step to share this with us. Thank you, you're a rare gem....

My baby girl. Thank you

Hope u wear glasses when we see

I always do

I,m 19years old myanmar countryman. I reach a latterly on steemit platform.So, i has an little upvoter and power.Please,i need your help for upvote and power.When i has a lots power,i upvote you.

Well my case Is different, a doctor said its astigmatism, another said its myopia, so I just got stucked in between. 😂 😂.
I have problems with seeing red writings and objects clearly afar.
Sometimes I like to think am cyclobs in X-men.
Wrote something about it, yet to share.
Thanks for this insight

You should see another optician. You cannot just stay inbetween

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42