"AIR-CLINIC" : The young shall grow old and die.

in #air-clinic6 years ago (edited)

It seems like only yesterday That I was playing on my grandfather's laps, running around his immense garden and constantly getting in trouble. But even then I was still allowed my pick of the harvested fruits, to my heart's content in fact, as long as I didn't mess with the tractor until I was old enough to do it with him. But after that day it was all about to change, as he had just promised we would during the next visit.

"Guys get up, we're going to grandad's" said my dad as he woke my siblings and I up at unusual early hours.

Weird, I thought to myself. We normally only go once or twice per month and now two weeks in row? I was ecstatic!!. But in retrospect I guess I was still too young and naive to notice the sad tone in his voice.

Grandpa was dead. Worst news I'd ever heard, that my dad would carefully but awkwardly announce during breakfast, before the longest silent ride we have ever gone on.

At the scene, the once spacious well groomed garden was suffocating, watered by tears and covered with dead leaves, it was heartbreaking. My dad must've felt my angst as he pulled me from the crowd, hugged me then explained that grandpa wouldn't be coming back but would always look over us. Not sure if I understood, tears started flowing uncontrollably as I glanced at the blurry tractor one last time, wondering about our promise and future plans we had made.

That was 19 years ago, now I'm 25, I've lost a couple of friends but not once do I remember shedding them tears, I've poured drinks in their memories but never did it make me really ponder my own mortality.

Do I think I'm immune to it or am I just terrified of it's very prospect? If so why can't I come to terms with the fact that we're only here for seasons? 

That we all die, leaving the universe to continue its cycle as it grows old and eventually also dies out.


Words: 349

To join the air-clinic's discord: 

https://discord.gg/rqded5m


Sort:  

Really, Sweet and sad memories are these. At our childhood ages, grandparents were real friends for many children. That movements are sweetest one. If they were lived in a village situations that events can't delete or erase from our mind.
Thanks for share this.

I am hugging you behalf of #air-clinic and #hug-challenge of @nairadaddy.


https://discord.gg/rqded5m

Thanks man, I appreciate

Nice post! I will follow you from now on. +UP

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ange.nkuru from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00