#AIR-CLINIC WRITING CONTEST: "SHE HAS GONE TO HEAVEN

in #air-clinic6 years ago (edited)

Adun and I were best friends. She was 8 and I was 6, you could hardly tell. Adun was a pale and fragile angel, I can still see her laughing lazily.

Adun practically needed help in everything, which made me love hanging out with her, i love being needed and responsible for someone.

On 11th of February 2005,

we were playing "Fall like a mango tree" on her bed. it was Adun's turn, she fell so perfectly, you could have mistaken her for an actual mango tree. I hailed her while waiting for her to stand up and continue but Adun didn't move as much as a hair on her skin.

I was 6, the closest to a lifeless body I had ever seen was chicken.

I shook her but I didn't get the response I hoped to get.

I was waiting for her lazy laughter as she told me it was all prank.

Just then her aunt walked in and asked me what happened, "I told her Adun fell like a mango tree and cannot stand up again."

As if she knew what was up, she raced to grabbed Adun by the shoulders as she shook her vigorously then I knew something was wrong.

I had hurt my best friend.

She was taken to the hospital while mom locked me in my room.
I waited for news about Adun.

I could remember how Adun fell, the lazy laughter she gave before falling.

I woke up to the news that Adun had gone to heaven

As young as I was, I knew that meant she died.

I was so devastated that I carried the guilt around for years, Adun wouldn't have died if I had called for help, she sure wouldn't have died if the nurses didn't put them on waiting list.

I got to know Adun was ill, from Hodgkin's but I couldn't bring myself to attribute that for her death.

** Adun died and I could do nothing about it.**

Word Count: 345 Words

Thanks @air-clinic for organising this contest.
Join #Air-clinic for medical related posts and contests https://discord.gg/rqded5m.

Sort:  

Wow... Am sorry you had to go through such pain as a very tender age. You got to stop beating yourself up though. It was never your fault.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51418.20
ETH 2293.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.99