#AIR CLINIC PUBLIC FORUM 6 : What Are The Characteristics Of Your Ideal Doctor/Nurse?

in #air-clinic6 years ago (edited)

Hello Air-Clinicians & Friends,

This is the sixth week of our weekly public forum discussions and it keeps getting better and more interesting.

The last discussions we had have no doubt revealed more a lot about the healthcare/hospital settings to our audience.
DQmRvaHo5f5ySJyr3BaDmfKZZFmcixxu5M6CNyyfwNdgVpq.png
Many can see reasons why things are done the way they are and it gladdens us that #AIR-CLINIC, the first ever healthcare system built on the Steem blockchain is pioneering this initiative.

Last week was such a good time to discuss love as it was Valentine's week and we sure asked people to discuss and contribute about what they know or might have experienced concerning Doctor -Patient Relationship.

Those who contributed were @josejirafa, @simplicitytech, @chetan9, @teaser1, @menoski @teslim @bookoons

We appreciate every single one of you for taking your time to drop comment. We also saw that some of are products of such beautiful doctor -patient relationship. We appreciate you all.

This week, we would like you all to tell us what you think about this topic Inspiring Ethics and Attitudes that You Recommend all Medical Personnel Should Emulate.

Many of us over the years have had to go to clinics/hospitals and relate with several medical personnel. Today we want to remember the great experiences we had with some of these people.

We want to talk about those ones whose response to the call of duty was really inspiring. We want you to share the experiences you had with those who were outstanding in the performance of their duty.

Are there names of medical personnel that stand out on your mind because of their excellence, care and good character? Please share with us the inspiring attitudes of these professionals.

What about them really made you happy when they treated you or consulted for you? Is there anything about them others can learn from?

Are there things about them you recommend other medical professionals should copy and/or pattern after?

Kindly share with us such good attitudes and please also feel free to mention any medical professional (doctor, nurses, laboratory scientist, dentist etc) who has demonstrated impressive work.

PLEASE DROP YOUR COMMENTS BELOW...
DQmSD2u9u5GLZ4ktigBnYPD9jGyWQiVsRV1qoWrTN3YrQag.png
JOIN US ON DISCORD
https://discord.gg/rqded5m

Sort:  

Well for me, I think an ideal nurse or doctor should have the following characteristics

  1. Love: without this character in a nurse or a doctor, it won't be so easy to discharge his or her duty to the humanity

  2. Patience : the patient are some times annoying, you have to patient enough to be able to handle them

  3. Professionalism : they must be professional, they know lots of secrets about their clients which must not be revealed no matter what except if the client give them the go ahead,and also they should not use that against their clients

  4. Dedicated: to me, nurses and doctors are always on duty even while they are busy sleeping at home, just a call can make them to jump into action..
    This are my ideal characters of a doctor or nurse

Oh great! That's some awesome character ideals you have stated. Thanks you for contributing in the public forum.
Cheers!

Having been a nurse for more than 3 years I can say that patience is one of the values that all medical professions should emulate. Being confronted with a tons of stressors everyday is a very challenging habit yet with patience handling such will be much easier.

Hey @jeizwannahavfun,
Nice username.
We totally agree with you dear.

Patience is a necessary virtue for health-workers.

Oh wow! You are a nurse? Then come join us on #AIR-CLINIC DISCORD COMMUNITY.
See link here: https://discord.gg/rqded5m

See yah! Cheers!

Interesting topic @air-clinic

So far, my favourite hospital experience was at a Kelina Hospital, Gwarinpa, Abuja.

Honestly, I felt so at home there and funny enough, I wasn't the patient, my sister was.

I feel like every medical personnel should emulate the following qualities:

  • Empathy: They need to be able to understand and share the feelings of another. It doesn't end with telling them all their problems. This is especially lacking in public hospitals. Understanding their psychological state is important as well.

  • Honesty and diplomacy: All medical personnel need to come up with a blend of honesty and diplomacy. Honesty to be actually transparent and put the patient's interest first and diplomacy in situations when the truth is terribly bitter.

Hey @the.chiomz,
thank you so much for your beautiful comment.
Indeed Empathy, Honesty & Diplomacy can heal alot of wounds while kindness will clear the scar totally.
Cheers dear!

Thus is such an interesting topic... I have not really had many experiences with medical personnels mostly because i dont fall sick easily but when I do, oh boy everybody around me will feel it because of how serious it would appear.

I remember one time when i was young, i was really sick so my mum took me to the hospital. When we got to the reception, the nurse on deck asked my mum a series of questions about the symptoms i was showing. After listening carefully, the nurse came to a swift conclusion that I would have to be given injection. (I need to say this here and now, I DON'T LIKE INJECTIONS!!! 😭) . Anything that would poke through my body really is a no no for me.

So immediately I heard the nurse mention injection, i stood up from where I was sitting, waiting and walked calmly out of the hospital. Immediately i stepped outside, come and see me running...

Ehhhnn i no wan hear say i dey sick o, that one na for their body.

It wasn't long i discovered two men were not so far behind chasing after me and beckoning on people ahead if me to help catch me. I tried to increase my speed but eventually the strong men caught up with me and one of them bundled me on his shoulder as we matched back to the hospital. I was literally fighting him, telling him to let go of me.

As we entered the hospital, i saw my mum thanking the men for helping to catch me. It was like my world was about to end, literally. It didn't end there, i wouldn't stay put for the nurse to inject my buttocks so she had the same men who caught me, hold my hands and feet. My mum was busy promising me all sorts of things she would normally object to, like sweets, chewing gum, ice-cream, fanta (which was my favorite back then), even stick sweet. I said no to all these goodies of life Lolz and began screaming while trying to free myself from the grip of the men.

A voice shouted from nowhere, stop!, leave him please. The nurse suggested to the men and they obliged. She asked the nurse to give her the injection while she momentarily looked at me and said something to me in the most calm voice i was still to hear in all my life "are you not a big boy?, don't worry just count one to ten for me and i promise you won't feel it". Next minute she asked me to get up, i was wondering if she had wanted to inject me somewhere else less painful but I was wrong, she had already injected me!.

Till today i won't forget her kind deed towards me, although i still have fear of injections, but the thought of having taken an injection before without feeling a thing is truly priceless, at least to me.

Weldone to all the doctors and nurses who are saving lives everyday and giving us a reason to be a better person than we were. :)

@dee-y over and out.

Lolx @dee-y,
we couldn't stop laughing while reading your comment.
Are you that scared of injections?
Thank God the lady came and gave you a good memory.
Most times, more is achieved by diplomacy more than force.
Your contribution to our public forum is much appreciated.
Cheers!

I was once admitted in an hospital in lagos, (HAMKAD HOSPITAL) due to a swollen at my right knee, it was just like a size of a lemon fruit.
OMG! It was really painfully, xray test was conducted but there was nothing suspicion. So i was to undergo surgery in oder to remove the purse. it was hell on earth!!!!

Eventually after the surgery, i was left in the hands of the beautiful nurses for the dressing of the wound and also for my drugs. They were just too good, they got lovely appearance, kind , patient, willing to help, they respect the right and dignity of others, they were also responsible in the cause of their duty and also they work as a team which is very important.

Hey @dammyzee,
Nice to hear that you had a good time at the hospital being care for by nice nurses.
Thats what hospitals are meant to provide- hospitality.
Thank you for contributing to the public forum.
Cheers!

Some xteristics of a good healthcare giver include

1.a good caregiver knows how to empathize.
2.a good caregiver is patient and flexible.
3.a good caregiver is passionate about what he or she does.
4.a good caregiver is attentive and responds to situations in a timely manner.
5.a good caregiver puts the needs of his or her patient first and is able to take charge when necessary.
6.a good caregiver is a good communicator.
7.a good caregiver is committed and dependable.
8.a good caregiver is supportive and encouraging.
9.a good caregiver is honest and trustworthy.
10.a good caregiver is able to maintain confidentiality.

Hey @noblekings,
Wow!
That's a very good one you have written.
All 10 of them are very important to the delivery of quality healthcare to patients.
Thank you for contributing in the public forum.
Cheers!

Basically, everyone is scared of getting sick and more scared of dying like Dean Winchester had said in a movie called Supernatural where he said,

I can't die in a hospital where the nurses are not sexy.

So you see people tend to be more comfortable having beautiful people around them, I can't imagine getting an injection from a nurse or doctor I don't like.
Generally I suggest they should be really friendly and have a very nice flow and vibe with their patients cos this also goes along way in helping them heal.

@kayesin. Lol, quite hilarious; talking about Dean Winchester's quote. Being really attractive would pass as one good ideal for professionals according to your comment. Thank you for contributing to the public forum.
Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05