AIR-CLINIC PUBLIC FORUM 10: Have You Ever Had An Encounter With Quacks?

in #air-clinic6 years ago

Hello Air-Clinicians & Friends,

You are welcome to the 10th edition of the Air-Clinic Public Forum where we create an avenue for you to say what you feel about pressing public health topics. It has been a wonderful experience so far with many of our members contributing immensely and learning from each other.

Screenshot_2018-01-16-15-18-57.png


Last week, we discussed Ways To Improve Emergency Care. The comments were extensively intensive.

We had contributions from:

@Anaman, @Pangoli, @Antigenx, @Annieben, @Josejirafa, @AdorableChi, @Kingernie, @Chuzywhyte, @Dubem-eu, @Mayorhero, @Eunireal1, @Seunnla, @Skiwzz etcz.

We thank you all for participating in the last public health forum. Much love and appreciation to you from your beloved Air-Clinic Family!


This Week...

We are going to discuss a pressing issue- Quackery in the health sector.

This is an opportunity for you to tell your tales about the experience. How did you know he/she was a quack? What did you do after you found out? What were the mistakes you made? What are the lessons you learnt?

Lets talk and chase these quacks out of the health sector. We all deserve better!

PLEASE DROP YOUR COMMENTS BELOW


Join Us On Discord!
https://discord.gg/rqded5m
Screenshot_2018-01-25-09-42-19.png
Screenshot_2018-03-19-09-18-28.png

Sort:  

@air-clinic this is a very good initiative. Quackery in the health system in nigeria is A Menance!

Thinking of this already makes me sick. I will read comments and maybe make a post about it later.

Hmmm. This just made me think of some people I know who lost their lives to quackery....

It should not be condoned in the health sector or any sector of life.

Quackery in the health section is increasing everyday in Nigeria.

My experience is from UNIBEN health centre. When I'm thinking of it I laugh.

UNIBEN health center, serves the students and staffs of UNIBEN. The doctors are quack to Me because I have observed them a lot from my friends and also myself.

  • You have a headache, they will give you drugs for malaria.
  • Stomach ache, they will give you malaria drugs

Everything that happens to you there is Malaria. I tried like an experiment, I told them of my eyes and they prescribed malaria drug. Lolz. Very funny I must say.

Can you guys remember when Lagos State let go of many of their doctors and had standby doctors ready to take their jobs. This means something if you understand.

There a lots quack doctors and nurses in Nigeria and that's why I scared to visit the hospitals again. But don't get me wrong there are still some good doctors, the only issue is that most fly out for a more attractive salary.

UNIBEN - University of Benin

Note: This is my own findings from UNIBEN health centre

#Air-Clinic-Is-The-Best.

Hey @Menoski,
UNIBEN Health Center is a health facility in-campus for students & staff in University of Benin right. I don't really know what that will mean for alot of the students over there. Is there no authority you can report these incidents to?

I tried like an experiment, I told them of my eyes and they prescribed malaria drug. Lolz. Very funny I must say.

In as much as it sounds funny, everything is not caused by Malaria & Typhoid. Treatment & therapy must be tailored to the diagnosis from history, physical examination & tests.


Thank God you know better. And also thank God for Air-Clinic. Keep steeming!

Oh my, beht why @menoski. I can't believe you had such experience with my Alma mater's health center 😅😅 . I know there are very good hands that Uniben produces maybe that day you went was just an unfortunate day.

The rate at which quacks operates especially in health sectors is very alarming. One of them recently used quantum machine to diagnose and informed me that am suffering from a disease he mentioned (I can't remember) but the way he was plastering on me to purchase his drugs took me aback and I consulted a proven medical professional who conducted some tests and it showed nothing of such.
@air-clinic, I must commend your effort in public health education. God bless you.

Hey @Nonny,
Run for your dear life my dear. Thank God you began suspecting. There's nothing like a Quantum Diagnosis Machine. We don't even know how you got in contact with such people. Be careful & stay safe!

This brought so many memories back. I had an ugly experience with one that almost damaged me as a person. I was 9 years old then. So it was in a private new hospital,i was sick and got admitted. The doctors would usually inject me and the nurses with the drugs. One fateful day, a nurse came to look after me and thereafter injected me. The injection wasn't properly administered and my laps, in fact entirely leg got swollen. I couldn't walk again, I was paralyzed instantly. The doctors had to rush in. Many things were immediately being administered, they tried to handle it so it doesn't get to the public as it could dainty there image.

God saved me and one of the doctors recommended a drug 'Repagel'. Which was gently applied until I got better and the swollen leg reduced. I now learnt that the supposed nurse was actually a student unqualified nurse. She was testing her injection skills on me. She was sacked thereafter though... Was really a horrible experience. With the fear that I could be paralyzed for life. Thank God for saving me.

Wow @Donnest,
Thank God for your life & leg oh.
I think you will know better from now onwards to visit standard hospitals for proper therapy.
Feel free to consult Air-Clinic when ill.
Keep steeming!

I will advise u guys not to depend fully on all these chemists u see around. I went to see one for malaria treatment buh after taking the drugs prescribed, the illness metamorphosed into skin rashes then later into measles.. It was at the hospital I later discovered that the drugs the chemist gave me was inappropriate.
So let us Beware.,, Health is wealth!

Exactly @Gabeman,
A Chemist is not a pharmacist neither is he/she a health expert.
Stay healthy by visiting hospitals when sick.
Keep steeming!

Thanks so much @air-click for this opportunity, I missed out last week topic because I traveled home and their was no electricity to charge my phone, but I'm happy to be here again this week.

Quark doctors
Hmm, they deserved to be kicked out of this beautiful profession, I had encounter with one when I was a little child, I had issue with my left leg then and my grandma took me to him been the only recognized doctor in the whole town

He made some prescription, we bought the drugs and I started taking them, but the problem keep getting worse on daily bases that was when my parents came around and took me to state general hospital, when the doctor on duty saw the state of the leg, he asked for what I have been using and I showed him the drugs, he shouted in surprise

He said all the drugs does not have a single relationship with my condition then, he ordered me to stop using them and made a new prescription, from the time I started following his prescription,the condition was improving

He discussed with my dad, and they reported the quark doctor to the police, he was arrested and charged to court, that was when we knew he was never a certified doctor.

That was the last time I heard about him, a lot of them are still in operation today, we need to expose them so that they won't kill us all.

Hey @Emmakkayluv,
there is something you will definitely notice, when you visit the right facility, your ailments will be diagnosed quickly. And the appropriate therapy will be given.
Desist from people mixing medications for you.
If ill, contact Air-Clinic immediately!

Thanks, that was like 20yrs ago, it can't happen again. I am a regular user of your discord page, it is just too amazing. Many of my health needs has been met through your channel. Thanks so much.

Yep, not me directly though. They were treating her from malaria whereas it was a worse sickness.

Her eyes turned yellow, and we didn't need divine inspiration to know the nurses had zero idea what was wrong with her.

Hey @Debbietiyan,
Lolx. Thats something potentially serious and they were just treating malaria?
Its a pity.
Stay away from quacks. If in doubt, visit Air-Clinic for some advice pending when you visit a physical hospital.
Cheers!

I rarely get sick, and I hate hospitals :)

I have met quite some numbers of them. But these particular one's I met at NYSC camp were out of this world. I was down with malaria and went there for drugs, after taking the drug they gave me. Seems my sickness increased its volume. I went back there and I was asked, what drug can I give to you now? I looked behind me to see if the question was meant for somebody else. I gave them the prescription I wanted and they had to look for it. I kept on thinking of it, An Environmentalist prescribing drug to a medical personnel abi self acclaimed doctor.

Hey @YungChief,
Lolx. Quackery is a sad thing. Imagine when you are prescribing medications for yourself...then whats the need of coming to them in the first place.
Thank God there's Air-Clinic to the rescue right now.
Keep steeming!

About two years ago, my neighbor who is pregnant for her first time, went for scan when the foetus is less than four months old and returned with her result without seeking an interpretation from a gynecologist.
She went to a chemist in a nearby street whom she earlier informed that she will be going for a scan. The chemist told her that her baby was not properly positioned and that she should come for him to push the baby into the proper position.
Worried, she told me of what the "Doctor" Chemist told her, unsatisfied with the information, I asked her when her next appointment with her doctor at the State medical facility is and luckily it was within the same week, I therefore told her to see her doctor at the state facility and seek his interpretation and opinion.
After consulting her Doctor, she informed me that her doctor told her not to go anywhere as her baby is properly positioned for its stage.
The woman gave birth without any form of complication at due time and this has made me understand what the so called Chemist is up to.

Hey @dubem-eu,
This is a warning of caution to everyone who's still patronizing chemists and others.
Of course at 4 months, the focus of any good physician is not the position of the baby.
Keep steeming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68779.72
ETH 3920.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64