AIR-CLINIC WRITTING CONTEST....POVERTY THE ELDER COUSIN OF DISEASES

in #air-clinic6 years ago

If one could choose where they would be born maybe I wouldn't have choosen my parents or just maybe life would have been different.

220px-Hilda_Dokubo_crying_1.jpgsource

My name is Nike, I come from a small village in the western part of Nigeria.
My parents Ade and joke are small time farmers and as such we live in the village,, we are what the teachers teach students as humble backgrounds, produce from our farm can barely feed us, myself, my only brother lekan and my parents,. So we didnt have any left to sell after feeding, basic necessities were a no go area.

Most nights lekan and I went to bed hungry, we ate lunch other days from neighbors children and thats after swallowing all the jest they make of us,calling us poor, though it was obvious but it still sounded hurting, our sleeping conditions were worse, as the mud house we live in, is almost falling apart, the thatched roof drips water when.it rains . It is the oldest in our community

One day while playing with the other kids lekan complained of pains and not long after started burning up with Fever, mother tried all the local herbs she knew, used a wet towel as other natives did, but he grew worse as the days went by, the hospital wasn't an option cause father couldn't afford the transport fare to the clinic nor the money that the treatment will cost, so mother prayed and prayed all she knew how to and would cry most nights as she sat by his bed side cursing poverty.

As the days continued he worsened , on the fourth night I felt a jerk close to me, only to wake up and find lekan convulsing, I was confused as to what to do, and in between calling mama and trying to hold him down, lekan went still. Right before me, in my arms poverty in the company of his cousin disease snatched lekan.

Word count::::327

This is going to be a regular feature of #AIR-CLINIC. So keep a date with us every Saturday.

SEE CLINIC LINK HERE: https://discord.gg/rqded5m

DQmbcN9aQAd51Cp89Ar6ixQjbTr5vJJEi3MfHFXe7fuZBTr.png

Sort:  

It's the questions we can't answer that teach us the most. They teach us how to think. If you give a man an answer, all he gains is a little fact. But give him a question and he'll look for his own answers.

Wow... Its something many no longer think about as an ambulance is only a call away in most countries. I cant imagine having my daughter so sick and having nothing I can do to make it better. Makes you appreciate the world we live in now.

We pray for a nation where our remote villages can easily access ambulance services too

Tanx @smylie2005 for reading my post

Loading...

I believe with the use of drones we can reach remote areas with emergency supplies and help.

Yes we can, nigeria is gradually developing means of sending aid to remote areas that cant access quick health facilities.

Thanks for reading through

This story is quite emotional. Death and diseases are the painful reality some have to deal with because of poverty. So sad

Yea and it is affecting so many people
Tanx dear for dropping by

Poverty and diseases are the very inseparable twin brothers. They always war against humanity together, causing havoc every where they visit. Am still waiting for their arrest and i hope they will be arrested someday. Thanks for this touchy story. I am @mrxplicit.

Same here , am so waiting for that arrest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56790.06
ETH 2345.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42