Remember me

in #aiken7 years ago

Find a Thing You Understand

I took in the sights
from beneath gnarled branches,
spreading what seeds I could
in the garden of my mind.
Despite my efforts
my veins still felt thin;
the blood inside them stagnant
and clotted
like the dead waters
of an untraveled mire.
I took in the sunset,
sighing as I did,
my back stiff against the bark
of a likewise sighing oak.
In my mind,
a maelstrom had taken shape,
its spiraling depths
sucking down each aspirant thought
without discretion.
Just then,
as the whirlpool reached the apex of my heart,
a familiar sadness settled upon me.
It didn't creep,
or sneak,
or catch my by surprise,
but rather grasped me
in an apologetic embrace and whispered sweet sorrows
like a lover long since lost.
My eyes glistened
in the light of a sinking sunIMG_5552.PNG,
and I wondered aloud:
"Do you ever feel the way that I do?"

Sort:  

Congratulations @hannahrose! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49