Is Intelligence an Algorithm? Published by iff books !

in #ai7 years ago (edited)

Do you remember the series of articles I posted here under the title "Is Intelligence an Algorithm?" ? I have rewritten the chapters a little bit and cast it into a format of a book, which I have submitted for publication to iff-books. They have accepted the book for publication and it will be available as from 26-1-2018. 

In the meantime I will have to do the marketing of the book myself. A daunting task, where I have zero experience. It is very important to get reviews of your book online to interest potential readers. This is why you can pre-order the book for a small fee from me before the official publication date, if you write a comprehensive review of the book and post it online. The fee is just to cover the delivery, printing and other costs. My printing and other costs amount to £8,30, delivery costs depend on the country. The first five volunteers however only pay the delivery costs. Please indicate by replying to this post if you are interested. You can also reach me at [email protected]. I also dedicated a website to the book: https://www.intelligencealgorithm.com.

Here is my "Marketing Blurb" for the book:

 Do you wish to improve your intelligence? Then we’ll first have to figure out what “intelligence” actually is.
Join me on a journey that starts with Nature’s ways to generate complexity. I will show you that from bacterial wisdom to the quagmire of human social interactions the same steps are followed to generate so-called “meta-system transitions”, where singleton entities organise into societies and finally into new emergent entities built there from.
In this book I will not only dissect intelligence into elements of cognition, pattern recognition, reasoning, problem-solving and diversity generation, I will also venture into the more elusive realms of emotions and intuition.
From these concepts I will provide strategies, heuristics and architectural plans to create a new generation of Artificial Intelligence. A conceptualisation of Artificial Consciousness and a blueprint for an Artificial Webmind.
And as a bonus I will provide you with tools. Tools to organise your thoughts, tools to solve any kind of problem, tools to navigate through the wild waves of our emotions.
This is the abstraction of the dissecting knife of the intellect and the great integrator of cliques allowing to spawn a plethora of novel and inventive solutions which are screened and pruned to generate an apotheosis of ever increasing complexity.
This is the book that reveals nature’s inherent simple algorithm to achieve complex goals in complex environments.  

And here is the text on the back cover:

 How do we understand the world around us? How do we solve problems?  Often the answer to these questions follows a certain pattern, an  algorithm if you wish. This is the case when our analytical left-brain  side is at work. However, there are also elements in our behaviour where  intelligence appears to follow a more elusive path, which cannot easily  be characterised as a specific sequence of steps.

Is Intelligence an Algorithm? offers an insight into intelligence as it  functions in nature, like human or animal intelligence, but also sheds  light on modern developments in the field of artificial intelligence,  proposing further architectural solutions for the creation of a  so-called global Webmind. 

In the book I also speak about steemit and how it enabled me writing this book. To everybody who upvoted the posts of this series and who encouraged me during the process a warm thank you!

I hope I tickled your curiosity and I hope you understand I have been very busy last months so I couldn't post on steemit like I used to do.

I you liked this post please upvote or even better, volunteer to write a review of the book.

You can find more about the book and about me on the site of iff-books.

Please note that I have a few review copies available already now. If you are interested in reviewing my book and receiving a copy in exchange, please reply to this post by indicating so. The deal is that your review must be published online including on amazon.com once the book is published.

Sort:  

Someone promoted your post. Promotions help every steemians.
Your reward is an upvote and 0.318 SBD extra promotion.
Good job, see you next time in Promoted! ;)

Upvoted.
I think series of Algorithms makes up the frame work for Artificial intelligence.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62