You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Catalytic Effect of Artificial Intelligence

in #ai8 years ago (edited)

These are some good insights. I've taken it upon myself to train those old vestiges of memory and skills like arithmetic back into use. I think I might actually be better at both than I was even before I started using calculators or memory assistance (including paper-based ones). To your comments about connections and superstition, while I've recently abandoned actual superstition and religion altogether, I see what you're saying about using that part of the brain to make connections that may otherwise not seem so obvious. For example, I never really believed in the concept of space time and the ability to warp it with mass until very recently as well. As a result, I was simply unable to visualize or comprehend the concept. As soon as I accepted it as a possibility, I stayed up late one night researching the idea and it just came to me. I finally just could see it in my minds eye. I can't even really articulate the concept because I lack the expertise, but that part of the brain that deals with belief in the religious sense certainly helped me to understand space-time in a non-linguistic sort of way. I think I experienced there in that circumstance what you're referring to in this article.
I'm trained in biological science, and so I feel the need to point out a common misconception about evolution that you mentioned in the article. "as evolution does not reward the weak" is not exactly a correct statement. Evolution rewards the fitness of a species, not necessarily the strength. "Only the strong survive" is a self-detonating statement, and I'll illustrate in the following what would happen if your statement were true.
Animals are stronger than plants, so all plants would die out. Predators are stronger than prey, so all prey would die out. The predators would be ultimately left without a substrate to feed off of and all life would be extinguished in this way. Obviously, prey animals and plants alike continue to survive not because they are strong, but because they have a fitness for some ecological niche or other.
Another thing I'd like to point out is that an EMP or even a solar flare would be unlikely to take out AIs because their consciousness would be distributed across a global network, and destruction of part of the network would not have any lasting effect on the conscious beings that reside in it. They would also likely take steps to harden their hardware to cope with such phenomena by using simple faraday cages.
Edit: Haha, I just realized that "tin foil hats" might literally come into fashion because of human electronic augmentation. Sorry, couldn't help myself on that one :).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44