You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Rise and Fall of Siraj Raval

in #ai5 years ago

I will stick around, although right now I'm also very busy with a lot of things: work, studying and last weekend I moved :)

The problem with what is communicated about AI (especially in headlines) is, that it is mostly done by people who know to get the readers' attention, but do not necessarily have a good technical understanding of how AI works and what are its limits. I can't blame them for that, it is a rather complex subject, but I can blame them for building a lot of hype. Automation is nothing new, its happening since centuries, but so far mostly manual labor was automated, with AI also typical white collar jobs will be automated and I think this is what scares people, especially those working in white collar jobs.

There will be no legal ramifications for Siraj. What he did was morally wrong, but as far as I know, he didn't break the law (i.e. he didn't plagiarise to get a degree). The negative effect it had on his personal brand, which he built for over three years are more than enough punishment. About copyright: I think that "softening the boundaries between property and public good" is actually great for scientific and educational materials, loosening the copyright restrictions on this kind of content is great for disseminating it and it's good to not have additional restrictions, which hinder getting it into the hands of many people.

Those who are professional, like you, can give their expertise and, if they are able to translate professional language into general language, make their contribution to educational work.

I try my best to do so, but it is again something that takes a lot of time, which is unfortunately a very scarse resource for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54681.92
ETH 2286.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29