Post-Humanism and the Singularity Pt. II

in #ai7 years ago (edited)

No matter how far deep we go into exploring the fundamentals of reality, even if we could ever post-humanly transcend the 3rd/4th dimensions and above, we will *never* find the *full* unified theory, because there will be new higher dimensional math and higher dimensional physics to learn.

One could theoretically explore these mathematical concepts recursively / infinitely, always constantly getting new parameters for how reality is constructed and yet we may never actually have the unified field theory physicists have been seeking for nearly all time. Is this not the pursuit of science and it’s methodologies? Perhaps this is where theology and philosophy can step in and possibly play a better role in answering these hard but fundamental questions we must ask ourselves.

At some point we must realize the tools we have to measure reality must exist *within* the ruleset / confines / “walls” of that reality, and so then it is logical to conclude that there may *never* be a way to know all things and have a single function / algorithm / whathaveyou that describes the nature of consciousness and all physics at all levels. What is consciousness like from a 5th dimensional perspective? 6th? 7th? It doesn’t end. Reality is infinite. God is infinite.

Superintelligence, AI, and post-humanism won’t get you to apotheosis. You’ll be stuck in the loop exploring it forever trying to find a way out.

I am currently working on a hypothesis (need to learn the first math in order to begin constructing it) that uses many ideas I have pieced together over the years from my study of physics and mathematics, including string theory, multiverse theory, recursion, infinity, and the number 1. I believe that there is one function, one algorithm that runs this entire reality. Do I think this function will ever be discovered? Not to its fullest extent.

Take the standard model for example: we smash new particles together and higher and higher energies, not only to confirm our existing hypothesis via experimentation, but to simultaneously continue finding new little bits and pieces of the puzzle that we originally didn’t notice. This is what I think will happen once we achieve post-human space colonization. I think its possible the singularity will enable post-humans to attempt transcending this reality.

My intuition leads me to believe that this only restarts this entire “life simulation” process all over again. Think “reincarnation” in a sense. If you could “get out of the box”, would you want to? I’d like to. I won’t be able to on my own though, nor will any man or post-human. 

This is where God, theology, philosophy, etc. comes into play, but that is for the next post.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Originally posted on my blog at alexpatin.com

This post is a continuation of a series of posts related to Post-Humanism and Singularitarianism. You may read Pt. I here.

Sort:  

Glad to see you posting here, Alex. :)

Thanks Luke! I haven't made this site a priority nearly as much as I'd like to. I think I can channel some of my thoughts / creative energy into more writing though as I am getting more used to it, as well as just becoming more used to putting myself out there. Appreciate the encouragement!

Congratulations @alexpatin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Very good congratulations, follow me and I follow you. We will be great

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61414.81
ETH 2984.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46