You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Series on Gender and Agriculture - Issue #2

in #agriculture8 years ago

I would then to agree with you, except in some special case (which is actually the case I am talking about). To continue with the same example, we had last year ~200 applicants for 5 jobs. It is not the same think as having ~200 applicants for 20 jobs. For small numbers of academic jobs, one should avoid anything else than scientific excellence.

For a larger number of jobs, I still think than 50%/15% is too large. I would feel more comfortable with a softer 25%/15%. The most important point would be to identify where this 15% is coming from. To apply for a job in research, you need a PhD. There as well, 15 % of female applicants. Then one can check at the master level, again 15% (Talking about France). At the bachelor level, I don't have the numbers but I think that it is not as extreme. Much closer to the 50/50 case. The question is then: why don;t we have more female students in the master programs. And here I have no clue.

Maybe are women not that attracted by fundamental research and the amount of necessary postdocs everywhere around the world before getting a job?

To conclude, I am probably discussing a special case which is special enough for not applying general rules that would be reasonable otherwise.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60051.08
ETH 2417.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43