Freeing myself from the clutchs of Google...

in #agorisim6 years ago

I mentioned Google yes sorry a calming river picture to ease you nerves:

IMG_20160223_130328.jpg

My recent posts have spoken about being an anarchist or agorist as I think I prefer to call myself. Agorism was coined by Samuel Edward Konkin III in 1970's / 80's. It basically is the development of a free market, counter economy and then gradual withdrawal from the state. Maybe I'll will write a post on the details of it from my perspective at some point but in the mean time @dbroze does a brilliant job of explaining it.

Getting on to the post in hand then; I have talked about where I am coming from but with no evidence of action so here we go! Are you sitting comfortably?

I am always looking for alternatives from the main stream and the big corporate options. In the quest for better options that don't monitor or watch your every move.

In this day and age we are all connected through some sort of device but more than often we don't think about what we use on them. We merrily sign up and engage in the programs provided to use by the supplier not questioning their origins or even motives. Google has not only become a house hold name but a definition, which I am constantly correcting people on. To "google it" is one of the most annoying phrases I know. Advising people there are alternatives is a great pastime of mine and I am constantly trying to find alternatives to the programs (and anything general I can to be honest) owned but the big corporate giants who only have our control and profit as their intention. These often result in our privacy being compromised and data being shared with adverting companies and the pesky telesales.

The Search Engine...

Where better to start than an alternative search engine. Many people appear to think Google is the only option thanks to their domination of the market through their connections in the media and computing world.

And you don't Google something!

Dam that infuriates me! So why stop using Google? Well firstly it tracks you and sends your personal data god knows where etc. But also its Google interests are at the top, so basically their other products and sponsors; then you have the people who pay to be near the top, so is that an organic search? No not in the slightest. This to me represent the big corporate and mass produce crap who only care about rating and prowess not quality of product. I therefore use DuckDuckGo:

duckduckgo.jpeg

DuckDuckGo It works well, runs smoothly and does not record your search, track you or record your personal details, now that's more like it. On a serious note though I use it all the time and find everything I need. All in all it does the job and in my opinion produces a more organic search than the Google version. The advantage is there is no targeted searching which Google provides, for example give you links to your friends or connections on the Google network. Also its a nice layout and navigation is simple. There are aspects that could be better mainly there is not a map feature as people complain about but dam there is a whole internet out there; I will look a map apps later in this series. Go on give it a try.

The Browser...

As I was looking at this I thought a new Browser was in order. Through the universes synchronicity I dropped in on a post by @illucifer who was looking a secure Browsers. He recommended Brave which I have to agree with, I have since used it and it's cracking. As they say it is faster and works very well. The only fault I have found is for some reason I can't see DTube videos properly in my Steempeak window; I am trying to work this out. They do play is you click on the link. It does all the standard things I expect from a browser and you can have ads is you so desire and get paid for it in BAT (their crypto). I don't have a massive amount to say about this Browser, not in a bad way just it does what I need and is easy to navigate your way around and it's true it is faster BONUS!

Brave.jpeg

Google Play...

Now i'm kinda of jumping onto the Smart phone a bit higgledy-piggledy but I'm just sharing as I find things. So one thing you appear to need on a smart phone it the Google Play app to run all you tracking app for you. This is wrong there is a great open source version out there call F-Droid. I am now using this and my aim is to find alternatives that work well to Google Play versions and rid my phone of the virus that is Google!

This is basically open source versions of all your favourite apps just not attached to Google and dam I like the sounds of that. I not into my apps to be honest but there are the odd ones that have a benefit to me or should I say I use? So F-Droid does what it says on the tin really best just have a butchers for yourself and start the conversion. It's similar layout to Google Play and easy to use.

Screenshot_20181209132542.png

Text Messenger...

Now we have an alternative to Google Play what does it actually provide I hear you asking, or maybe I don't but i'm going to tell you anyway. The first one I want to find was a text message alternative because lets face it that the main use of the phone other than being a phone that is. I looked at a few and deleted a few but found QKSMS+ and it's cracking folks. I'd even go out and say much better than the Google version (doubt that surprises you). Again it's open source and you can donate if you like. The features are plentiful you can Schedule messages to send at a specific time or date i.e. a birthday. Kind of a great feature for those who are not the most organised. You and also delay the sending of a message; so write while you remember and send it in a hour again a bonus there!

Screenshot_20181129202220.png

Features that are being developed are Custom auto-emoji (yay for those that emoji it up), Advanced blocking so you can block text with certain words or patterns, Auto response not my bag but I know some like this and also auto forwarding. The layout is almost identical to the Google version but i'd say better but hey i'm bias.

Now for some music...

I occasionally listen to music at work when writing my reports it helps me focus on the situation in hand. I didn't require anything complicated just one that plays mp3 and allow me to see what being played. Cue Music Player by Simple Mobile Tools. It does the job required all you need and no fancy sugar coating.

Screenshot_20181209165049.png

Lastly for this session is an alternative to Dropbox...

This came about from the music player. I want to have the ease of transferring my music onto my phone, kind of like DropBox does. I found Syncthing

Syncthing mac 1.jpeg

This program is not the simplest to use although. I didn't read the instructions. It took a while to set up but once it was worked like a gem. I can simply swap files on my phone; mainly music and photos. When on WiFi I simply change the folder on my computer and Bob's your uncle. It works just like Dropbox would although I says its less hassle as you only have to updater one folder and it syncs those connected automatically. Again check it out and see what you think!

Syncthing mac 2.png

Syncthing .png

There we have it some alternatives to the Google empire that I am using and liking. I hope to come back with more alternatives as and when I find them.

Keep Google free my friends!

That is it for now folks. Please try these out and spread the word. The more people that come off Google and started advising others too the better! Slowly we will see a decline as people realise there are better alternatives that don't watch your every move. As this market grows more options will become more easily available and hopefully knock these corporation down a bit.

Also please feel free to add you comment and even option you have found !

vibeof100monkeysbanner.png

Sort:  

Curated for #informationwar (by @truthforce)

  • Our purpose is to encourage posts discussing Information War, Propaganda, Disinformation and other false narratives. We currently have over 6,500 Steem Power + 12,000 Steem Power from the people following the curation trail to support our mission.

  • Join our discord and chat with 350+ fellow Informationwar Activists.

  • Join our brand new reddit! and start sharing your Steemit posts directly to The_IW, via the share button on your Steemit post!!!

  • Connect with fellow Informationwar writers in our Roll Call! InformationWar - Leadership/Contributing Writers/Supporters: Roll Call

Ways you can help the @informationwar

  • Upvote this comment.
  • Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP
  • Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 11 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 119 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Many thanks 👍🏽 💯🐒

good information thanks you for sharing, have a great day

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope to find more and go Google free soon 👍🏽 💯🐒

Always good to learn alternatives to Google. I have been using goduckgo and brave and I like them. Ill have to try fdroid. Thanks for this information....and have a cracking day!

Carry your phone in a metal pencil case or similar and it can't be tracked and it also protects from the radiation according to Barrie Trower.

Mmm I have to look into that but does that also stop the signal? I did look a case like this before but they cost a fortune! 💯🐒

Yes it stops the signal. That's how you don't get spied on. If you have a signal you are being spied on. Can't have it both ways. They cost a couple of quid in asda.

Mmm will have to take a gander again! Tricky one? The signal is crap around me anyways haha a bonus I guess 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79