Exciting & Disconcerting Events I experienced as a Special Agent with U.S. Customs and Inspector General with SSA

in #agent7 years ago

Being my first posting, allow me to introduce myself and extend my wishes that we all live, learn and love to our fullest capacity. My name is Ron Ingleby. I worked six months for DEA, 13 years for U.S. Customs Office of Investigations and 13 years for the Office of Inspector General for SSA. I round-tripped from Salt Lake to LA, Miami, Flagstaff, Yuma and back to Salt Lake.
Experiences I had as a federal agent, I believe are relevant to what is going on in the big picture today.

One such experience is when I took the former SSA Budget Director, who transferred to my Office of Investigations, to lunch around 2004. Finishing up eating and chatting, I asked him if there was even one red cent in the working peoples' retirement fund - you know, the lock box that candidates Bush and Gore bloviated about. He replied that there was not one red cent in it. One ledger book was kept. It contained only IOU's from Congress...almost three trillion worth at the time. I will go into this story more fully in the future if you are interested.

After 911, I came up with an investigative project that cleaned out airport workers who used false social security numbers to obtain secure area identification badges prior to the Winter Olympics in Salt Lake City. We arrested fifty, had outstanding warrants for fifty or more and directed the airport authorities to revoke non-secure badges of about 250. This went nationwide with over 1000 arrests at major airports. For this, I was a finalist for Service to America's Justice Award (A Customs agent from Miami won. I did the same stuff he did a decade earlier when I worked in Miami. I have no hard feelings as I have learned that life metes out rewards or bad karma as it will. I chuckle that the winner did not show up for the award ceremony.

In 2002, I started assisting in the FBI's Joint Terrorism Task Force (JTTF) in Salt Lake City. Agents complained they did not have the right kind of informants to probe into terror groups. I mined a data base. I obtained arrest warrants for over a dozen in Utah who committed felony misuse of social security numbers (SSN). JTTF soon got a couple of good informants. One fugitive was that Army or Marine soldier who was supposedly kidnapped by insurgents in the early stages of the Iraq war. I later saw him in a CNN interview in Lebanon. He said he bailed from his unit as he could not fight his religious brothers. At least my arrest warrant remains outstanding and he won't return to the U.S. I read Stephen Emerson's book about where terror cells were in the U.S. I mined a database in 39 cities where cells were located. The FBI provided me with a list of common name types they were after (I cannot say exactly what type as I don't believe the politically correct standards are still enforced in this country). These names were run against a "Suspense" file...we found 14,996 who committed felony misuse of SSNs. My FBI, JTTF buddies and I flew to D.C. to present our findings and to obtain approval for a nationwide man hunt. Main Department of Justice denied approval to proceed. I figure they want bogey men out there to continue scaring us.

Around 2006 or 2007, I worked with a civil Assistant U.S. Attorney (AUSA) to mine the "Suspense" file and start fining employers who submitted workers with non-matching SSNs on a quarterly basis. Utah was going to be the test bed. U.S. Attorneys from all other states said they would do it in their states if it was successful. Personally, I think the potential fines collected from employers would have dried up over 90% of the jobs in this country for aliens who use false SSNs on counterfeit Social Security cards. Just as we were ready to start issuing fines to employers, I got a call from one of my headquarters honchos. He told me SSA ratted out my project to the White House. The Bush league White House ordered me to cease the project and shred the files with the ultimatum that I would be terminated and lose my future pension if I failed to do so. I am sorry folks. I was a pussy. I caved and shredded everything. This project could still be done today. It would negate the need to build a $100-billion dollar wall. The government would also collect a lot of money from fines; at least, for a year or so as all the aliens would return to their homelands as they couldn't get jobs here anymore.

There is a bunch more to say. We could have stopped all "China White heroin and brought 7 POWs out of Southeast Asia. By the early 1990's, U.S. Customs agents had Colombian drug lords bitching and on their knees about having half their cocaine loads seized by the "Devil's Customs Agents'...that's what our informants returning from Colombia told us. My belief is the powers that be (TPTB) and DEA want the problem to continue, for black ops money and continuance of the empire. In the future, I will post stories about investigations I worked with Venezuelan Secret Service (DISIP) which sheds light on the phony drug war and how it may have been the beginning of the downfall of a once prosperous nation - they are now eating animals in the Caracas zoo now. On the sexier side of things, I was the eyeball on a Colombian money launderer we were following in Miami, Florida around 1989. His daughter was the current Miss Colombia who bared it all to me. Her sister was equally gorgeous. My group liked following this family around Miami (LOL). As I was saying that while I was the eyeball to watch them, the family entered their 7th floor condominium on Miami Beach. The girls went into their bedroom and opened the drapes. What the girls did next, I will share with you in a future post if you are interested and I am not taken to a FEMA camp to shut me up. I've got to get to the gym and work out some stress.

I hope to get some feed back from you. I am thinking about writing a book. I have the chapters outlined; but, I've been to lazy to sit down and write it. I can post the chapter titles of my proposed book. Let me know if you are curious and want to see them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59453.81
ETH 2607.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39