MAKE A LIVING WITH YOUR HOBBY OR TALENT

in #africaunchained7 years ago

Good day my fellow steemians, I'm barely a month old on steemit but I'm really glad to be on this life changing platform, my next post will be centered on appreciating steemit and everyone that has made it a success in changing my life, but today I'll be talking about my course of study in the University.

First off, I'm not much of a writer so I'll be dropping as much as my brain can offer, so pardon my writing skills.

5b5399cb921e867adc41331f7204c5fc--lifestyle-quotes-the-gift.jpg
Source

Sincerely, I was never the kind of kid that tried to design My Future, at my young age I wasn't concerned about my career choice because I never had one. Even at the age of 18 I couldn't picture myself as a father or as a successful doctor or an engineer or anything at all, all I was concerned about then was the Present. I was almost living a life of No direction, all I wanted was to have fun, play around with my friends which I never realized they weren't gonna stay forever.

At the time I was supposed to take Jamb and get into the University, I couldn't make up my mind on what I was going there to study, the only thing I knew was that I had a keen interest in nature (biology) and I was good at it so I had to choose something related so I went for Medicine and Surgery even though I wasn't the brightest in my class I just went for it thinking it's gonna be a piece of cake. I wrote the Jamb, result came out at due time but I didn't make it to the required cut off mark for the course, ouch!. What do I do now? I asked myself, so I prepared for another Jamb the following year but this time I didn't choose Medicine and Surgery, Instead I went for something that I didn't have much knowledge about but the name sounded catchy and "Bio" (biology) which was my favorite subject back then was part of the name and chemistry as well. Even though I wasn't bright in the chemistry aspect I overlooked it and focused on the biology and I chose BIOCHEMISTRY.

I took the exam and I came out successfully, I made it to the cut off mark and I was awarded BIOCHEMISTRY as my course of study in the great University of Benin and I guess that was how my future was designed by nature. On the other hand, my father was really mad at me for not consulting him before choosing a course of study. He studied Pharmacy in school so he has some knowledge of Biochemistry from the little he studied from it. He knew I had a talent of ART in me but I never wanted to do ART as a profession Because I felt in the present economy of my country Nigeria, Art isn't gonna be enough to put food on the table or serve as a steady source of income, they don't really earn much in my country cuz ART isn't really appreciated by lots of Nigerians. So I only loved it as a hobby but that was a huge mistake I made, I really should have added effort in my ART because since it's a natural ability in me it's gonna come easy taking it as a profession, but it was too late already, I was already taking another path that I thought was the best for me.

1096979522_1370045690.jpg
Source

I'm currently in my 3rd year in the University studying BIOCHEMISTRY which is a 4 year program and I'm starting to really get tired cuz it's not what I was expecting, it's even more of Chemistry than Biology and I wasn't a big fan of Chemistry like I said earlier. Now I'm adding extra effort just to wrap my head around the Chemistry and it's really making the whole thing hard. Now I wish I just went to study ART that I was created for, doing it with ease but I guess it's too late now. All I can do now is to be praying for the grace of God to finish successfully and Graduate.

4201087549_ba69fb45ef_o.png
Source

For the part I never forgot but almost forgot to include was MY MUSIC. I've talked about how I started to love music and my Inspirations on my previous post. For me Music is a huge part of my life but also I don't see it as a full-time job I'm sure we all know how music as a career is, it's more like a part-time thing, just do yours when you get the chance and go, even though your name is gonna remembered someone else is still going to take your place sooner or later.
What I'm saying in essence is that I'll be doing Music cuz it's my hobby and I believe there's no Job or career that can be easier than earning money from your hobby. I had the chance with Art but I messed it up and I guess this is a second chance nature is giving me so I'm gonna be taking this one to the highest level I can, I'm gonna be putting everything I have into Music. It's still possible I can be an Artist (in drawings or Art) and also an Artist (as a Musician), I really hope I can achieve that.

What I can tell anyone reading this Post is that, "There's no Job in life that is easier than your Hobby or Talent" so don't make this same mistake I made because you might not get a second chance like I did.

If you found this article interesting kindly UPVOTE RESTEEM and FOLLOW thanks.

Sort:  

Thats a good one. Nice post and so educating.

@kingeazi
Your publication has been successfully shared, with more than 2505 Steemit users thank you for participating in the last edition of free reestem.
If you find my project useful, *donate a vote to my comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51