Wake Up Africa!

in #africa7 years ago

Hello there Steemians!

Today I choose to talk about this sensitive topic that I have observed in Africa.

Recently, there has been much popularization of skin colour and the market has become saturated with bleaching creams. My earliest interaction with skin colour was back in primary school where a product called 'Fair and Lovely' was very popular and almost in all homes. It promised to make your skin fairer in 4 weeks!

Without knowing what I was doing, when I went to high-school to do my normal shopping, I would pick a few packets for use. It had an ashy white finish but smelled really good. It was a staple in any girls' handbag. As I became a teenager and we would go for functions that had other schools present, I would notice that the lighter girls always received more attention.

It went even further where the Girl Guides would only choose light-skinned girls with long hair. This is because they would be present in almost all the functions held, and because they represented our school, we had to have a proper reputation! The light girls would attract all the attention and our school would be known for having pretty girls.

WhatsApp Image 2018-01-21 at 19.53.40.jpeg
Fast-forward to today, you see socialites spending millions to bleach their skin in order to fit into the category of 'Yellow-Yellow'. This has affected dark-skinned girls who are now cramming for the bleaching products and destroying their skin in the process!

You see, whites are white for a reason. Their weather climate supports their fair skin because they are far from the equator hence they get little Sun. Actually, the reason the whites have more hair on their body compared to black is because their body has adapted to keep them warm because of the cold weather conditions there.

As I went over a personal-development journey over the past few years, I found myself researching my history. I noticed that what I was taught in school about history was the way we were colonized. But surely, we existed before we were colonized and had a culture. Imagine my shock when I found out that the Moors, who were black actually colonized the whites first! And here is another shocker, the Jews were black! And so was JESUS!
WhatsApp Image 2018-01-21 at 19.38.46.jpeg

So how did we end up having such a rich culture get wiped out of our history books??

There is so much self-hate among the blacks and I will take our country for example. Kenya is known for Tourism. So you will find that when a waiter is attending to the guests, more priority will be given to the whites compared to the blacks. The same case is seen in the dating scene. Ladies will scram for the white dudes in a club compared to the black males.

WhatsApp Image 2018-01-21 at 19.53.08.jpeg

We need to stop being colonized in the mind and start appreciating our beautiful melanin and rich culture. Did you know that blacks are genetically superior to whites??

I ain't being racist but that should tell you something. We are living in this mind-made prison and exalting anything foreign to our own. That is why we prefer importing while we can manufacture our own. We export our great raw materials at such a cheap price and import the finished goods at such a high price...and you wonder why Africa is not developing??

Wake Up Africa!

Sort:  

We need to be proud of who we are, we didnt choose to be black, but we have a choice on how we react and how we view ourselves. Great post!

Exactly! The minute we appreciate ourselves, we can then begin to value what we bring to the table!

Black is beautiful. We should appreciate that we are wonderfully created. Thanks for creating this awareness.
Cheers

Black people have been ruling the world for centuries, long before people were categorized with color. #wakeupAfrica

If only we realized how powerful we are! The western economy heavily depends on the raw materials they get from Africa!

Diamonds come from Africa!

Africa should really wake up. My parents taught me that Black is beautiful and I kinda grew with that. There's nothing else I'd rather be.

Give my thanks to your parents !

Honestly, everyone needs to read this.

Speak louder for the people in the back.

I actually never knew colour was a thing growing up until I heard the lightskin darkskin manenos .

Dark skin is amazing & beautiful.

Congratulations @zippykimani! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @zippykimani! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59508.12
ETH 2603.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39