The Africa you won't see on TV - Post #1

in #africa7 years ago

"You call it Africa, I call it home."

This is the first of what will hopefully be a continuing series on the various things the lovely continent of #Africa has to offer. Over the years, international media has focused on the negatives and ignorantly overlooked the greater beauty.

Any time I describe my county or continent for that matter to others who've never been, they are often surprised. Also, anyone who visits Africa always wants to keep coming back.

What's the catch? A lot.

First off, most African cultures are based on the foundation of kindness and love for others. There, one is never too busy or too poor to help their neighbors. While this may not be unique to the continent (I have met pretty nice people on the road when traveling across other continents), there is a certain warmth you'll find among Africans.

The nature - we have everything. Waterfalls, rivers, lakes, deserts, mountains, craters...

The general vibe - this is different from the warmth part above. Different but related. The people are always down for a good time.

I think I should just use DIVERSE for the people part. I will strive to send some pics to capture this in great depth as much as possible.

This is an introductory post, and I hope you will enjoy what the future has to offer as we strive demystify Africa.

Here's a shot of one of my favorite waterfalls found in Nyahururu, #Kenya.

Follow me so you never me a post ☺️

Have a lovely day!

Sort:  

Great initiative! will for sure keep an eye out! Only been to Morocco but the continents has so much more to offer

Thank you so much for your comment @lovenews. Will be sure not to disappoint. I'm sure you loved Morocco? It's a very beautiful country.

Congratulations @wachera! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64998.89
ETH 3514.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37