My Newfound Love for the African Duo Amadou & Mariam

in #africa7 years ago

image

They say music can transcend cultural barriers, including language. That's exactly what I found in the music of this wonderful couple Amadou & Mariam. Their music is a magnetic fusion of ethnic pop sound with an upbeat accoustic that captures my imagination of being in the continent that I wish to visit someday soon.

I don't really know much about music actually, but I know what I heard is good.

I came accross this duo when I listen to Nas' song named Sabali which samples the song of Amadou & Mariam with the similar title. After I've search for this couple and listen to more of their music, I'm hooked. Although their music mostly in Bambara, but I starting to learn the language to understand the story. Hopefully I learn much more soon so I can understand the story of life in Mali as I prepare my departure there one day.

Sort:  

Great post, thanks for sharing! I gave you a vote. I hope you enjoy it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by judas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

you received an up vote from danlupi with voting power of 21.05%

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87