You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Blockchain in Africa - Fraud and Corruption

in #africa8 years ago

It's funny isn't it; when people talk of corruption they always mention Africa, politicians buying themselves palaces.

However look at the biggest corruption scandal ever; George Bush/Haliburton took place in front of the world's eyes. Africa learned it's corruption from Western colonialism, they are corruption infants.

Britain, France, America, write an article about that corruption, there's plenty of material :-)

Cg

Sort:  

Thanks @cryptogee and I fully agree with you ! The reason that I wrote about Africa however, and more specifically South Africa, is that I am from SA, and not a happy with all the corruption here. I will leave it to the representatives off those countries to write about their countries. I am sure that there are just as much corruption in other countries :)

Ah yes, as I was writing that i was thinking; "maybe he come's from there"

Power corrupts, yet we keep giving individuals power :-(

Cg

Yes, another point to agree on. But we sit here with a historic problem where the masses are afraid to lose the power again to the old regime. Now they just vote to keep the current ruling party in power. The corruption fraud and tenderpreneurship is taking over :) But I still like the old Guiness saying: All comes to those who wait ... You never know, maybe the masses will still vote for the real good and not about of what they are scared off :)

This is it, I try and tell people that here in the UK, that once you start voting for people, just so "the others" don't get in; we put ourselves in a situation whereby they feel they can put forward anyone (Hillary Clinton) and still win.

Then one day; they are left saying; "how did that happen!"

Cg

I live in Norway. The ordinary man in the street thinks ... "corruption, that's something to be found in countries like Russia". It's a dangerous sentiment, most people wouldn't believe that corruption takes place also in Norway, but I do believe it's a serious problem.

The most obvious forms of of corruption - some government representative (be it a low-level police man or a top-level politician in the government) openly asking for a bribe, or some person openly trying to pay money for a favorable treatment ... that's pretty unheard of, almost impossible here - but corruption comes in many forms; I believe it's often a kind of "I scratch your back and you scratch mine"-sentimentality. Sometimes you'll see some former politician or bureaucrat getting a well-paid job at some company that formerly got favorable treatment by said person. Corruption or not? It can be pretty difficult to prove that corruption has found place.

I would love to live in a country where the police cannot openly ask for a bribe and I agree that it will be very difficult to get away from corruption as a whole. There will always be the "bad" part of humankind that will find ways to be corrupt.

South Africa is however very far from being a corruption free country. The government is the most corrupt of all. I have never been a racist. Not even in the old government where apartheid was the rulers. For me it was always that the best person for the job, must get the job. I do not believe that I will even see a change away from the corrupt government in my lifetime.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58148.81
ETH 2345.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35