You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cultural Identity Theft

in #africa7 years ago

I want to firstly say that I love the pictures you have used here @humanearl. Even without you saying anything, they already pass their message vividly.

Am proud to be African. I refuse to accept the distorted definition the world chooses to give me. My race will always carry a torch and fight for our right to be as equal as any white person that steps foot on this earth. Everyday we fight for our freedom in the land of the Free. Everyday we fight for our lives, so that we can go home to our loved ones. Everyday we fight for the right to keep our lives after an altercation with an officer of the law, and I use that term loosely.

We are fighters, taking on a fight that we shouldn't of had to fight in the first place.

I am proud of my pigment, the color on my arms does not define me, but prompt me to be stronger. I am proud that I am of color, I want to be different and I want someone to notice me when I walk out in this sea of Ivory. I want you to see my accomplishments, my features exaggerated way beyond the social normality. I want the world to notice that caramel is a color and that ivory will never cover my dark palette.

Thank you @humanearl for this wonderful post, re-establishing the fact that I have to be proud of my heritage as an african

Sort:  

Your post is warming and I'm glad we share like minds. Take pride in being African because we were literally forced to hate each other. We have to change the narrative and that's exactly why I wrote this. I pray we heal together and help our fellow man to do the same.

A big amen to that. Divide and conquer, is exactly the principle being applied here. They make you think your African brother is the problem, and they are your friends.
We have to keep working hard to spread thus wonderful message you have written here. I'll surely resteem this.

A big amen to us healing together, and as we move towards this healing together, nothing can stop us, our potentials are so enormous.
If under this conditions, we have been able to achieve all these breakthroughs, then imagine what we would achieve if given the same level playing ground.

Just imagine what we could do is right. Thanks for your thoughts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57497.94
ETH 3099.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32