Irene - Old Itergrated With The New

in #africa7 years ago

On my travels from Cullinan to Centurion I had to pass by as small village called Irene, this small village has a rich history, but I don't want to share the history with you today, for that please follow the hyperlink at the end of this post. But rather wanted to point out how old and new compliment each other to continue the legacy of the little village.

I have often stopped at the farmers market in Irene for some delicious dairy products as the farm offers a restaurant and a farm stall, that sells very unique dairy products, a chef's dream store I would imagine, and it was convenient as my office wasn't based too far from the farm, I guess that is another reason it is so popular, as it is a farm in the middle of a residential and affluent area. It serves almost as a break away from the fast pace lifestyle surrounding the farm.

Due to its popularity they actually opened a mall in the village as the potential for business was recognised due to the influx of tourism and the surrounding residential area expanding.

This artwork greets you as you enter the main gate of the mall, designed to reflect the farming history of the village.

Even the bathrooms have a welcoming feel to it as the cows indicate which way you should go.

With its variety of retail shops and exclusive dining places it's one of my favorite malls, with the open air, trees and garden beds on the sidewalks it really creates a relaxing feel.

I even went out to the farm again for some dairy products, but sadly the shop was under renovations so I couldn't indulge my addiction....just kidding.

The farm is open to the public to go on nature walks and to view the farm animals, so it is a fantastic outing for the family, I highly recommend a visit to the farm and the mall, the village also has a top class golf course for the guys who want to play while your mrs is out shopping all day.
Source

If you like the post please help an ordinary guy pave the way to living the dream, with a comment, re-steem or upvote.

Sort:  

what an interesting looking place to visit. and what unusual artworks. We have a lot of stuff like that floating around Cape Town - especially in our national botanical gardens "Kirstenbosch" there are often really interesting art displays there. An example of such...


Image Credit: http://1.bp.blogspot.com

Great post :)

Thank you for the info on Kirstenbosch, never been myself but would love to see it on my next trip down to Cape Town.

Great restuarants too.

Pictures are great. @batwing

wow really beautiful photo, big thumbs up and look forward to read more of your post! I also follow your blog !! @batwing

That is really kind of you, thank you.

Amazing post. thank you for good posting @batwing

Informative and the photos are excellent .

Really awesome post, I hope to visit there someday :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59500.17
ETH 2654.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41