A Question For The Steem Community: How Much to Charge for a Custom PC Build

in #advice7 years ago

Hello Everyone,

A bit of backstory, I was approached by a coworker and asked to build them a PC for their home. It is not unusual for people at work to ask me about what tech to buy or have me pick out or find a good deal on a computer, but I have not been asked to build anything until now. I had initially offered to just build it and bring it in free of charge, however, the person who asked me to do this insisted on paying me. So far my research has only uncovered suggestions on hourly rates but this seemed unreasonable to me because things like installing the OS and drivers would artificially inflate the price, and charging any reasonable sum might push the cost into territory where just buying an off the shelf model would be more economical. I am leaning towards 50$ because that will cover the gas to go install it and still leave me with a bit left over while not being too ridiculous (for reference this person's initial offer was 500$ on top of the cost of parts). The build will be a relatively powerful machine with a lot of HDD space for photo editing and general home usage.

My question to you all then is, was my number reasonable and if not what would you do in my position?

Thank you all for your advice.

Sort:  

A business here asks about 80€ for the assembly and testing, plus 35€ for installation of OS and drivers. that about 122.5 dollars including vat 24%.. guess somewhere around 50-100 bucks would be allright

Thanks a bunch, I'll feel much better knowing that I am coming a bit below ($75-$80) but still offering a fair price.

-Also thanks for the conversion to USD

Congratulations @thethirdgnome! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

Upvote this notificationto to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @thethirdgnome! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60385.18
ETH 2658.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47