Knowing When to Leave - Quitting the Job that Doesn't Serve You

in #advice7 years ago (edited)

If you're debating whether or not your current job is worth keeping, I can provide some insight on why I left mine and how it impacted me. Good evening friends, Steemians, and lurkers alike- Tonight we're going down the rabbit hole on key indicators that you might just be at a dead-end job, and what you can do about it. We hear tons of stories from friends and colleagues that their jobs are horrible, but for one reason or another they can't leave. This simply isn't true.

Are you trading away your future and sanity for money?

knowing_when.jpg

Let me accurately explain what this post is about (Photoshop CS5).


Reevaluating the Situation When Things are "Not so Bad"

In a few of my early posts here on Steemit, I've written about the seemingly happy and carefree life of working as hostess for a Japanese restaurant in Honolulu. I would greet, seat, book reservations, and operate multiple phone lines while providing what can be argued pretty damn good customer service. Sometimes regulars would bring me gifts, or my coworkers would buy me lunch. Managers cared for my input on various topics, and I was picked as a person up for promotion after being hired back only a few months prior.

I say "hired back", because I was bought out to work from a different company that time last year. After a year of being gone, I saw an additional $7/hr difference in pay when my position was re-offered to me again this year. Being paid $15 an hour to smile, open doors, and walk people to tables doesn't seem like too bad of a deal! These were "the pros" for my situation, and for a lot of people this may be enough, but although things seemed to be prospering on the surface, behind the scenes my life began to fall apart because of this. Over time, my managers realized that no matter how many hours they gave me, or how high my pay was...
it would never be enough.


I Almost Failed out of School to Keep my Job Happy

Because I was working so much, I failed to notice how far I was falling back on my studies. It wasn't until I received emails, from my counselor and financial supervisor stating that my GPA fallen so low that if I could not bring up my GPA over the next two classes, that I would lose my eligibility for financial aid entirely.

To put it all into perspective, I attend classes online at a private, for profit college called Post University. I have 24 hour around the clock support, including free tutoring. Attending year round, with accelerated classes changing every two months (modules vs semesters), you absolutely need to have a high degree of self control and discipline to keep up with your studies and finish all of your work on time. More freedom, more responsibility.

22375370_10210812291763178_1569737805_o.jpg

I legit need to practice drawing. Art posts incoming.


Being Abused for Being Reliable

I lived in walking distance from my job, and when anyone called out, I was the first person contacted. "They need me," is what I told myself, so I always went in. However, this would happen several times a week. My Operations manger, for 4 weeks in a row (around the time I started to fail school) would pull me aside and ask kindly if I could work another 7 shifts the following week. There were a lot of issues at the communication level not being properly addressed. Every Friday, during the "all managers meeting" they would discuss overtime, but for me, it was never a problem... for them. After a while, it felt as though they had ownership over me.


When Your Job Stops Caring About Your Availability

If you have school, or other main responsibilities, you need to state that in your availability and never go back on it. Don't ever feel bad for your employer if it's not your career nor dream job. They CAN replace you, so don't let them ruin your future. Many of my coworkers were between 18-21, and being in the restaurant industry, you can expect people to constantly call out because they partied too much or were otherwise not being responsible. I was willingly letting other people take away the time that I needed for school so that they could get high or drunk, and the only person that was losing was me.


alone_in_my_positivity.jpg
Not everyone will care as much as they claim. Wearing your heart on your sleeve, can be a dangerous gig at times.

It wasn't even that I didn't plan my schedule. My availability was set for 5 days a week, so I could focus on my studies and turn my work in on time. On almost every off day, I would be called in to cover someone else's morning shift... then the night shift would no call, no show. They knew about my school schedule, and declined my change of availability down to 4 days, twice. I'm normally one of the most positive people I know, and I didn't want to believe that they were hurting me.

But I had to realize that they weren't going to pay for every thousand plus dollar class I was failing.

I offered as much as I possibly could but they still wanted more. I would always see consistent hours, and then got offered the promotion with a additional 2 dollar pay raise to what I was making. Sure, I could be making $17 an hour, and when I resigned, they were shocked because they had offered me so much... They were blind to my needs. When I graduate, and sit in a 50 thousand dollar deficit, what are they going to do for me? When my dream employer calls them; what would they say, that I was a good server? Would any company, in business, or tech... take me seriously at all, (tearing the **** up remembering this) when my focus was only on the immediate gratification of my hourly wage, and I had no vision of my own future? The answer is no, so why even go to school?

That's when I knew I had to leave.



If you're at a job for the hustle, to grind hours for wage- that's fine, but if your current line of work doesn't align with your personal goals and aspirations you have for yourself, you need to consider when to leave.


This is What I do Now

Currently I'm a full-time student with a B average, that I'm slowly climbing to an A. When I'm not doing homework, which is actually pretty often lol, I write blogs here on Steemit, because I love learning. I get some support from my loving, nerdy, sushi chef boyfriend Jake, and I repair laptops and tablets on the side. It may seem like a stretch to make each part of your life enforce the future you want, but it's not. Due to my blog writings alone, I can safely say that my capabilities for writing academic papers is the highest it's ever been, and the scholarships I am looking at for the end of the year are all going to be competition essays. This will help drive down my debt over time, and I'll have tons of fun doing it.


To Recap: When You Should Leave a Job

  1. When working takes priority over your personal responsibilities
  2. You are failing college because of how much you are working
  3. Your managers and coworkers make you feel like they need you, and you feel bad and NEED TO help
  4. Being constantly scheduled outside of your availability
  5. After expressing your own needs to the company and nothing changes


rainbow divider.png

By leaving that job, I learned that I can make each activity I undertake serve a greater future purpose. I hope that by reading about my experience, you can decide what is important, and make the decision that helps you the most.

rainbow divider.png

small sticker.png


DQmepgRekYyhyvF8EXreuWYRrRyXm4CjVWktDm4tsXatySz_1680x8400.png


skyleap is the best.jpg


BANNER_THE_PROJECT.png


golden.png

Even when I follow my dreams, do what I say I will, and try my hardest, there will still be many challenges, hardships, and setbacks to overcome.

Sort:  

Hey Shery (shello)

Congratulations!

You won my $10 SBD contest with this article. I did not set an end to my contest in the rooms (yeah It was my first contest and I kind of winged it). 4 Days in looks like you're the only real submission so you would win by default but I like your article as well!

I can relate pretty well; I once had two jobs while being a full time student and later quit a job shortly after a raise to work at home and I am so glad I did. I love what I do now.

Following you now; enjoying the stories from your life in Hawaii :)

We're on the same level (similar followers and joined within a few months of each other) though you're rep is higher! Grr [jealous]

To be clear the award is $10 of promotion (applying now) to your post :)

Oh cool thank you! <3 I like to read the instructions c:

It's okay that it was your first contest, it's not fun when people don't participate. For me, I'm fortunate enough to have more time for my school and other priorities right now. Yeah two jobs plus school, no thank you! I am not about that life.

Oh? Thank you! Yeah Hawai'i can get a little nuts sometimes xD

As far as when we both joined and our follower counts, rep and stuff is concerned, the best thing I can suggest is to post at least once a day, once every two days max. You want to remind your friends and followers that you are still here! I wrote a list of people I like and try to develop my friendship/followship with them. I go and check out their posts, sometimes I even say hi if I see their comment in someone else's post.

No need be jelly! Just be positive. Thank you for keeping up your end Mike! I'm excited to know I won ($10 value promo!) That shows me that people are not paying as much attention as we would like. This is the first contest I've won here c:

I promise you, if you can be consistent you are sure to climb. I again give you mad props for doing something fun and nice for the community.

Take it easy, and don't be a stranger!
@shello

How long have you been there? Since birth?

Great advice; I just made other priorities/work lately. I will not abandon; I will get back in the came with some powerful content.

Yup, I was born here!

No worries at all; it's good to have priorities and goals, and I don't doubt that you will be back soon. I look forward to see what you have in store!

you're making steemit a great community with your content shello! keep it up!

That was a sweet comment @steemking777, I will do my best! :D

Hello shello!

I'm happy you can make such decisions in life, I know some people who would only stick around for issues to be magically resolved - just to find themselves in an even trickier situation.

It's far too easy to work more and more when you are studying, as it feels so good to get money! Taking a leap towards reaching your dreams can however sometimes require letting off the current thing you are doing. I enjoy your writing and I can imagine you can use your creativity and intelligence in writing academic material.

Good luck for the future, once again :)

Hey it's Apsu!

It took a lot to come to terms with how a workplace I enjoyed being at wasn't looking out in my best interest. It can be scary how money can dehumanize a person against what they once stood for. Hahahah yeah, I've seen a lot of my friends prolong, delay, or otherwise ignore things they claimed were important to them, only to watch them lose it and get burned even harder in the end. I am not down for that kind of life.

It does feel good too make money, way more snacks during studying xD

I did lose some things by doing this, but if you compare them with what I gained, there are no regrets. Being true makes me feel good about myself and encourages me to keep going.

You really gotta sneak individuality into school papers, and thank you so much for such a sincere reply. I smiled so big when it was YOU that replied!!

As they say, there is a price for anything. However I don't completely agree, but there is a price for most things.. if it's not anything specially important, we can go quite far for money - if we think it's enough for the thing to be done.

And snacks. Money is my friend, but snacks are my good friends <3

Good luck with your school work and studies. It's a tough job, but it will pay in the end if you put your soul and heart to it. And maybe some work too.

Mhmm! In my case, I couldn't buy myself better grades, so the trade wasn't worth it. I agree money is good, if you can use it to help your goal... or buy more snacks with it!! :D

Thank you for the blessing, work is needed to, just as much as passion.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 2.61 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @shello. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Congratulations @shello! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by shello from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This is a very good article. I went to school online, and the workload is overwhelming. I could not imagine trying to get my school work done, and go to work at the same time. I think you made a good decision to leave that job. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you so much for this loving comment. I don't think the restaurant route was the way to go, and I have no regrets. School is tough indeed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46