Make your kid what you always wanted to be

in #advice6 years ago (edited)

That's what we all do, we force our dreams on our children and they are so mentally manipulated that they take it as their own dream and end up messing their lives. Sadly, we parents fail to understand what our kids are good at and we force them into taking up something that we see has opportunities now. What is disturbing is the fact that we fail to understand that time may not be same always and what seems like a future boom today may not be so a decade later.
Screenshot_2019-01-13-00-51-46-262_com.android.chrome.png
Image source : http://bit.ly/2snZYXp

Today, I was at my regular grocery store to get my stuff when the uncle there got me a magazine and told me to find his grandson who was all of 4 years and is a Yashagana ( form of traditional dance) artist. This tradition art form requires the artist to wear paint on face, heavy clothes along with a heavy head gear and of course recite lengthy dialogues. That little 4 year old has been doing it all since he was 2 1/2 years old. My 3 year old can't even talk properly and see this marvel boy. I was shocked.

A little while later, after I was done picking my things, I saw the little boy and his mother coming there. She looked disappointed and he reflected her looks. I asked them how was their day and the mom started ranting about how the little boy disappointed her today at a fancy dress competition where he was asked to name his dance school and he seemed to have forgotten it. She ranted about how could he forget such silly thing and that's when I realised that how difficult it is to be a 4 year old.

Life is not as easy for these little children as well think it is. The pressure of performing well is too much for these little minds. I won't be shocked if I see that little boy depressed a few years later. I am pretty sure that at the age of 2.5 the little boy had not expressed his interest to join the classes to learn this special art form, instead was forced to learn by his parents.

I hope parents see the future coming and not waste their child's prescious playing years into building a future which may not actually work a few years from now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.72
ETH 2683.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80