A simple turn of phrase can make a big difference

in #advice7 years ago

We often hear people say “I hate it when that happens”, usually in a jesting tone or facetiously, but since I’m working on promoting healthful, positive and constructive influences in my life I’ve decided to adopt “I love it when that happens”.
DSCF0127.JPG

Like say I'm waiting outside for a long time, camera ready, watching the hummers come to the feeder. I happen to click the shutter at just the right moment! "I love it when that happens".

Or let’s say, I’m buying all-purpose flour (gluten free for me) or rice or whatever at the bulk section of my local health food store and I get home and the amount I have shovelled into the bag exactly fits the container that I keep that item in. "I love it when that happens".

Or, I’m driving up to the store and a car is just pulling out of a parking spot in front of the door, allowing me easy, quick access. "I love it when that happens".

When something needs repair, that can be a real stressor but when the repair turns out to be simple and inexpensive, "I love it when that happens".

Sometimes I have to make a call to a “company” where I have to press a seeming infinite number of buttons to get to the right department. When there is “0 minutes” wait time and a Customer Service Representative answers right away, "I love it when that happens".

A friend had told me of a good book she was reading. I went into my local, very small library and asked if they would look up to see if they had this book (I had forgotten the author). The librarian went over to the shelf and pulled down that very book for me. "I love it when that happens".

Now this is not so unusual because I do live right by the ferry, but when I come down my driveway and roll into the parking area and the ferry is right there on my side of the channel, "I love it when that happens".

Lately I’ve been laughing at small mishaps that befall me. This morning, for instance, instead of pouring cream into my coffee, which was in the blender as I make Bullet Proof Coffee, I poured it into the cup full of hot water that was warming up nicely for that BPC. Obviously I was not paying enough attention, but instead of going, tsk tsk or worse, I just cracked up laughing. Something falls on the floor, I chuckle. How funny.

I love the “I love it when that happens” idea and I hope it catches on. Life really isn’t to be taken so seriously, I’ve decided.

Cheers
Eveline

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.34
ETH 2738.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61