Sometimes, advice just repeats itself

in #advice6 years ago

ballpen-blank-desk-606541.jpg

From time to time I feel like I repeat what I say a little bit too much. I feel like I approach the same topics all the time, like I write in the same way and that I never really tackle anything new. Just the same subjects again and again, with the same type of writing.

But the thing is that if you're the type of person that gives advice about personal development, how to work better, how to become a better person and how to make progress, there comes a point where ideas start to repeat themselves and you just give the same advice.

That may seem really bad and weird, but if you think about it, it's normal - if you just talk about one single topic for a long time, unless you can find new information about it, you're gonna repeat yourself.

For example, if I want to talk about how you can work better and how to make more progress in a short amount of time, I may be able to tell you things like "wake up early in the morning" or "learn how to focus on one single task rather than multitasking" or "learn new skills to automate boring tasks so you can get more time to take care of other things".

While that is good advice and it can help you do things better and faster, it's hard not to constantly repeat it and it's hard to find different methods of doing things that are both completely new and work really well.

Everyone can give advice, but giving good advice, that's something different. I could tell you about several tactics when it comes to writing better and coming up with more content, but not everything I'm gonna say is gonna be good.

Sure, I can tell you things like "use a different text editor" or "learn how to use Linux instead of Windows", and I can even find enough reasons to give you if you ever doubt me and ask "why do you even tell me to do that?"

For example, I could say things like "Changing your text editor will give you a fresh experience when it comes to writing, and even tho you do the same thing, it feels different, and that can motivate you to spend more time writing" or "Changing your operating system from Windows to Linux will allow you to have a lot less distractions, since Linux doesn't allow you to play so many games, and that may make you be interested in doing more productive work".

While those may be good reasons, it doesn't mean that doing what I said is gonna actually help you. To be honest, all I said above is gonna help me a lot more than is gonna help you - you spend some time reading my advice, you think it's gonna help, you may even try it and think "oh, this is pretty cool actually" and this way I gain your trust and even make you follow me.

I don't wanna do that. I don't want to give you new and useless advice just because I want something from you. If I want to be successful and if I want to get money out of what I do, the best way to do it is by offering value and trying to give back as much as I can.

This applies to everyone out there. If you're worried that you talk about the same things again and again and people will get bored, believe me - that's a lot better than to write about boring or stupid things just to get some attention. That doesn't mean you need to stop trying to get new ideas and topics.

Find a balance between approaching new topics and writing about the same things for several days or even weeks, and learn how to offer good advice, while also trying to come up with new content as often as possible.

Sort:  

It has been a while since I started following you and I must say, this article could not be more truthful. I've noticed patterns in both how you write and the topics you write about. As you said though, it doesn't matter really.

There are always new people going through the news feed, so the audience is ever changing.

Also, we change over time, as well. Your point of view on some things you posted when you started might have changed over the time and writing about it now just feels different.

I do feel sometimes like I repeat myself too much and that I should approach new topics, but I also want to make sure I understand other things as well as I understand personal development or work before actually approaching new topics.

As you said however, there are always new people trying to find content creators, so even if I post the same type of articles, that's still good.

I guess everyone gets to a similar point in their life, where they get enough good advice from others, they start giving that advice away and they can't really think of anything better, so they just write about pretty much the same things because that's what some people need to be doing to make progress.

I'm happy with what I write at the present moment, but I'll try to find new things to talk about in the future as well, I don't want to keep writing about personal development only for the rest of my life.

Also, thank you for following me for so long :)

You're wellcome. I just like what you are doing.

Also, this can really be applied to many things. Like, politics, for example. They are not doing anything, except for constant lying, yet they get paid all the time.

And so, I think it doesn't hurt repeating ourselves in creating.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93