You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Is it OK and normal for me to have 'space' in my relationship with my boyfriend?"

in #advice6 years ago

Relationships are difficult. They require constant work and communication, which apparently many people don't understand (this always comes as a surprise to me).
A one-year relationship is still a sprouting thing, and I think this is the best time to shape it together. When you talk about things, and try to understand why the other feels the way he/she does, it really helps in the long term.

This is probably the most important advice I've ever gotten about relationships, and I am currently in a 10-years mostly-wonderful relationship with my husband, which wouldn't have lasted half of that time if we hadn't dedicated the time to communicate. All of our few fights and bad patches happen when we don't talk enough about things that bother us - we retain tension, and become angry at ourselves, at each other and at the world, and at some point we kind of explode, and then realize we just didn't talk about it. After we do - things go back to normal, and we're very happy together.

As for the judging - from personal experience, I can tell that people are very critical of things they're not happy about in themselves. Maybe your boyfriend feels like he should dress better or not be late to places, and on the other hand, maybe he feels like he'd want you to tell him things like that, too (it's possible, I don't know). So it can be either projection of his own conflicts on you, or desire to receive from you what he believes to be a "loving criticism" - both really annoying, but can be dealt with through communication.

Lastly - the personal space thing is very important. Super-important, really. But relatively new couples, who don't live together yet, seem to want to spend more time together in general. This is a delicate balance, and if and when you move in together, it will slightly shift, because you will be together physically most of your time at home, anyway.
However, in the meantime, it's okay and fair to take some time off, go have coffee or an evening with friends, or even by yourself (or a stroll or something). I used to enjoy my alone time in my car, when I had one. Also, in the most tense situations with my husband, I went on a few "solo vacations" - I took 2-3 days off, flew somewhere nice and cheap, and spent those days in mindless wandering. It helps.

Sort:  

Maybe your boyfriend feels like he should dress better or not be late to places, and on the other hand, maybe he feels like he'd want you to tell him things like that, too

In this case, the guy is insecured, wanting his gf to dress modesty not to atract other men's attention.

Could be, unless he believes she doesn't dress "well enough" - that part wasn't specified.
One can get criticized both for dressing up in a manner that is too "tempting", but as Laura describes herself as "spacey", I would think that the opposite is true, and she just throws on whatever clothes she finds in the closet, and goes to class. In this case it can well be the boyfriend's problem with the way he dresses, wanting to improve his style but not knowing it, or not caring enough to do that. And again, maybe he wants Laura to try and "improve" him in that manner, too, because that's what he considers as "a loving relationship".
I'd say it could be another form of insecurity, but in himself, and not specifically in the relationship.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60479.65
ETH 2906.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43